See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Disappearing contour lines???

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2016-04
    Location
    California
    Posts
    157
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Disappearing contour lines???

    OK here is a new one, I wanted to see more contour lines (smaller interval) so I simply reset the contour interval from one foot to .25 feet. The project site is very flat. Rather than giving me more contour lines, I got many less. Then I reset back to the one foot interval and the one foot interval lines never came back. I even rebooted AutoCAD. What the heck causes this frustrating thing and how do you fix it, preferably so it does not happen again?

    I am using Civil 3D 2017.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    Please confirm that LEVELOFDETAIL is shut off. It is an option, when on, that reduces what you see on screen to increase performance. It can be found on one of the panels of the view tab of the ribbon (sorry cant remember which panel)

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    439
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    Recheck the surface style contour interval settings vs the display settings. Changing the minor contour interval will usually alter the interval for major contours. Your surface style may be set to display majors and not minors.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,686
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    I'd never modify an existing Surface Style. I've added Surface Styles Contours 0.1' and 0.5' (Background) and Contours 0.2' and 1' (Design) for the same purpose without any issues. Having a Surface Style with a Minor Interval of 0.25 and a Major Interval of 1.25 sounds strange. Not sure how that would work.

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2016-04
    Location
    California
    Posts
    157
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    I modified the "Standard" surface style and got the contours back. Don't really know why.

  6. #6
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2017-08
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill View Post
    Please confirm that LEVELOFDETAIL is shut off. It is an option, when on, that reduces what you see on screen to increase performance. It can be found on one of the panels of the view tab of the ribbon (sorry cant remember which panel)
    You should put "levelofdetailoff" to get autocad to give you a option to change. Just putting "levelofdetail" on the command can go nowhere if you are having that happening with no contour lines. Just saying this kicks it into doing something.

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,686
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    Quote Originally Posted by ccowgill View Post
    Please confirm that LEVELOFDETAIL is shut off. It is an option, when on, that reduces what you see on screen to increase performance. It can be found on one of the panels of the view tab of the ribbon (sorry cant remember which panel)
    The LEVELOFDETAIL toggle button is on the Views panel of the View tab in Civil 3D 2018.

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict ccowgill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-08
    Location
    Iron Station, NC
    Posts
    3,198
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    Thanks Tom. I usually just click on panels until I find it, which doesnt help when trying to answer tech questions from memory.

  9. #9
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,761
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    Sharing this here at AUGI as well:

    https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/civil...t/true#M528228

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox
    FWIW - I recently changed employers and my new shop is still using C3D 2022, where this is very much still an issue.

    So, I developed a solution where PREVIEW Command is Veto()-ed, LEVELOFDETAILOFF Command is invoked, PREVIEW Command then re-invoked, and when complete, LEVELOFDETAIL Command is invoked turning it back on... this appears to be unnoticeable (once you turn off the disable/enable dialogs) and precludes the command line entry from going to an inactive document, allowing the benefit of using LevelOfDetail while working.

    I just used Autoloader to include a custom LEVELOFDETAILMODE system variable, and so far, it works great.

    I've already found that I also want OBJECTVIEWER accounted for, so there may be other Commands not mentioned here that would benefit, in kind.

    With this issue only applying to legacy versions (fixed in new versions), just reach out if you'd like help with the code described above.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 5860, Xeon W7-2495X, 128GB RAM, Dual PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 20GB NVIDIA RTX 4000 ADA

  10. #10
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,761
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Disappearing contour lines???

    Welp... this has been an issue since +/- 2014 (C3D 2015), and this :

    https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/net/v...3303879#M85585


    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox
    lmfao... there is a simple solution... love LISP right now:

    Code:
    (command ".undefine" "preview")
    
    
    ;;;(if (= 0 (getvar 'levelofdetailmode))    ; custom sysvar 
    ;;;  (setvar 'levelofdetailmode 0)
    ;;;)
    
    
    (defun c:PREVIEW (/ *error* cmdecho nomutt)
    
    
      (defun *error* (msg)
        (if cmdecho (setvar 'cmdecho cmdecho))
        (if nomutt (setvar 'nomutt nomutt))
        (cond ((not msg))                                                   ; Normal exit
              ((member msg '("Function cancelled" "quit / exit abort")))    ; <esc> or (quit)
              ((princ (strcat "\n** Error: " msg " ** ")))                  ; Fatal error, display it
        )
        (princ)
      )
    
    
      (setq cmdecho (getvar 'cmdecho))
      (setvar 'cmdecho 0)
      (setq nomutt (getvar 'nomutt))
      (setvar 'nomutt 0)
    
    
      (command "LEVELOFDETAILOFF" ".PREVIEW" "LEVELOFDETAIL")
    
    
      (*error* nil)
    )
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 5860, Xeon W7-2495X, 128GB RAM, Dual PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 20GB NVIDIA RTX 4000 ADA

Similar Threads

  1. Contour Lisp to create contour lines from TIN 3D Faces
    By Sameer Ahmed in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2016-06-11, 07:28 PM
  2. 2016: Topography Contour Labels only on some Contour Lines
    By Duncan Lithgow in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2015-11-19, 09:56 AM
  3. Contour lines
    By alrun in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 19
    Last Post: 2004-09-07, 01:25 PM
  4. Disappearing contour line
    By christo4robin in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2003-07-15, 06:38 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •