Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Polar tracking overriding object tracking (per drawing/template)

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-12
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Polar tracking overriding object tracking (per drawing/template)

    A bit difficult to explain so I will do my best.

    In our company template (and all of the current company drawings) polar tracking is suppressing/overriding a object tracking line.

    In the below screen shot I want to:

    1. Select the box at a point to copy/move

    2. Hover over another endpoint to start object tracking

    3. Move/copy the box to the red points with the red line being the temporary object tracking line that would appear.

    In a normal drawing started from the acad template everything works fine.

    In our company files when the polar tracking is locked to one of its angles the object tracking is ignored and does not snap as expected.

    See the attached drawings AbNormal comes from our company template Normal is from acad template.

    I have screecasts at the fallowing Autodesk forum post:


    Why is object tracking being overridden in the AbNormal drawing?

    Attachment 105190
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2016-12
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Polar tracking overriding object tracking (per drawing/template)

    We revived a solution from Autodesk

    It entails using DVIEW and setting points to 0,0,0.

    IE the read only variable TARGET is not the default 0,0,0 but some other value causing problems.

    See the Autodesk forum post for more info.

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,374
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Polar tracking overriding object tracking (per drawing/template)

    AutoCAD's Longest-Lived Bug?
    Workaround: You might think that you could manually set TARGET to 0,0,0, but it's a read-only variable, so you can't do that. You might think that using the PLAN command would fix it up, but it doesn't. The best way is to use the Dview command's Point option to put things back to normal. Here is the command sequence:

    Dview [Enter] [Enter] Point [Enter] 0,0,0 [Enter] 0,0,1 [Enter] [Enter]

    If you come across this problem often, it is probably worth making a menu macro to do this:

    ^C^C_.Dview;;_Point;0,0,0;0,0,1;;
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2020 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

Similar Threads

  1. Polar Tracking - polar angle measurement
    By Arterius in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2015-09-10, 06:18 PM
  2. Polar Tracking
    By jdcincy in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2012-08-01, 12:43 PM
  3. Polar Tracking...wha ?
    By iridium77 in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-05-14, 02:47 PM
  4. Polar Tracking misbehaving
    By kane333 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-03-24, 05:07 PM
  5. polar tracking
    By hausmeister25 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-03-12, 10:28 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •