Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Using Autocad 2000, Is Autocad capable of generating a negative X or Y.

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Using Autocad 2000, Is Autocad capable of generating a negative X or Y.

    It's been suggested to me that all versions of AutoCAD only see positive locations for X and Y and perhaps Z, using the Ordinate tab on the toolbar, no matter where the UCS is placed. Is this true and if so, is there an automatic, not manual way to correct this? This would seem like a necessity if one is setting his digital readout using ordinate dimensions from a drawing.

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,069
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Autocad 2000, Is Autocad capable of generating a negative X or Y.

    AutoCAD works on a cartesian coordinate system, x,y, & z. Working in negative coordinates is absolutely possible

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2014-08
    Posts
    445
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Autocad 2000, Is Autocad capable of generating a negative X or Y.

    Hi
    If you are doing civil work be careful with the negative coordinates. Won't make any difference to you or Autocad Your surveyor may have some choice words for you, as he does calculations and crosses the zero line

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,650
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Using Autocad 2000, Is Autocad capable of generating a negative X or Y.

    As signs could be easily missed standard practice is to simply avoid negative coordinates. No US state plane coordinate zones have any negative coordinates. In the 42 years I've been doing Civil/Survey work I've never seen a negative coordinate used.

    Wouldn't have any idea how other fields address this issue.

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Transfering Custom Toolbars and Commands from AutoCAD 2000 to AutoCAD LT 2013
    By Mac Demer in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2016-02-03, 04:36 PM
  2. 2012: Problems in autocad 2012 when opening files from autocad 2011 saved as 2000
    By debora.fernandes in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2012-06-30, 02:12 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-06-01, 07:10 AM
  4. AutoCAD 2006 Text Editor, restore to AutoCAD 2000 behaviour
    By louis.64641 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-05-29, 03:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •