Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Layer states - can we save the states out ?

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to Chirag Mistry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Atlanta
    Posts
    254
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Exclamation Layer states - can we save the states out ?

    Team,

    I'd like to know if there is an operation in ACAD2005 or ADT3.3 that allows me to save viewing preferences for layers. I have a consultant drawing xrefed into another file, but only want certain layers visible. Since they send us these same files on a regular basis, I have to go through the process of freezing the same layers each time. Is there a way to streamline and save this state and transfer to subsequent files with identical layer names?

  2. #2
    Wish List Manager BrenBren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    150700
    Posts
    3,434
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer states - can we save the states out ?

    Hi Chiragmitry (sorry, don't know your real name)

    Please note I've *moved* this thread from the AutoCAD Tips and Tricks Forum to this one as I believe it would be better served here.

    Thanks

  3. #3
    100 Club jhohman's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Location
    Spring Hill, Florida
    Posts
    195
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer states - can we save the states out ?

    What software are you using? In AutoCAD2005, you can set the layer state, then right-click in the layer list and select the "Save Layer State" option, this info is stored in the drawing and carries through to newer versions. I have drawings I did about 6 years ago and I can still restore the layer states from when the drawing was created in R14. Hope this helps.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to tyshofner's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-03
    Location
    Dallas, Tx
    Posts
    229
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer states - can we save the states out ?

    Also, once you have saved your layer state, you can then export that state to an external file "*.las" that can then be imported into any drawing you choose.

    Ty

  5. #5
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,656
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Layer states - can we save the states out ?

    Hi

    Have a browse of the following threads -

    Layer State Mgr in 2004...

    i want to extract layer info...

    +

    Have you tried the Forum Search facility, below a few key-word search examples:

    Layer + *las*
    Layer + *lay*
    Layer + *State*
    Lman

    Have a good one, Mike

Similar Threads

  1. Save layer states that apply to xrefs
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-02-21, 09:22 PM
  2. Layer States to Visibility States?
    By Ant59 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-07-07, 11:17 AM
  3. Global Save Option for Layer States
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-06-17, 04:53 PM
  4. Setvar to save layer states for views?
    By tedg in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-02-26, 10:29 PM
  5. Save Layer States and restore
    By Matt Mercer in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-02-24, 11:08 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •