Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Block @ PIs

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    631
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Block @ PIs

    Is there away to make a block be inserted dynamically with any PI in Parcels. When generating residential subdivision drawings I have to have a very simple block to clearly show where line and curve labels begin and end. Its actually right much work inserting these at every PI and thats not even accounting for the constant revising of the lot layouts.

  2. #2
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,621
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Block @ PIs

    Ah, I wrote a routine to do this years ago. We drew our parcels with lines and arcs, then ran this routine to generate the blocks for the endpoints.
    Of course it checked for duplicates and this was somewhat of a check to ensure geometry endpoints were coincident. (after all of this, we generated the parcels)

    You want them to be dynamic to the parcel entities though, right?
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    631
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Block @ PIs

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Ah, I wrote a routine to do this years ago. We drew our parcels with lines and arcs, then ran this routine to generate the blocks for the endpoints.
    Of course it checked for duplicates and this was somewhat of a check to ensure geometry endpoints were coincident. (after all of this, we generated the parcels)

    You want them to be dynamic to the parcel entities though, right?
    Yes, Sorry for the delayed reply. One of those end of day questions and never remember until now seeing a revised site plan with property markers floating all over the page.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    385
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Block @ PIs

    You could make the blocks part of your current segment labels to be inserted at the 'start' and 'end' locations. Or, make them their own label style.

    Alignment/rotation may be an issue.

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    631
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Block @ PIs

    Quote Originally Posted by MMccall View Post
    You could make the blocks part of your current segment labels to be inserted at the 'start' and 'end' locations. Or, make them their own label style.

    Alignment/rotation may be an issue.
    I like the idea. I have created many label styles but nothing of that nature. Could you tell me where to start in the label style composer?

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Central New Jersey
    Posts
    385
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Block @ PIs

    In the label style composer on the layout tab there is a pull down list or 5 component types you can add to a label style. 'Block' is one of those components.

    Anchor points available for components are 'Start, Middle, End and Label Location'. You'll use Start and End for the blocks.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2017-01-15, 12:22 AM
  2. How to change dynamic block attribute default values based on block selected?
    By zeirz109180 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-12-13, 02:20 PM
  3. 2013: Can't find user block in block list while creating a multi-leader style
    By rsturgeon502669 in forum AutoCAD Annotation
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2013-07-08, 07:05 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-06-06, 12:28 PM
  5. Highlight Last Opened Block in Block Editor Block List
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-10-11, 09:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •