Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: From ATI to Nvidia

  1. #1
    100 Club steve.70285's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    150
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default From ATI to Nvidia

    I have been using ATI 9700 Radeon Pro and have had no problems with Revit, albeit I do not use GL acceleration since I've found little difference.

    My problem is I can't use ATI with SketchUp...I really notice hardware acceleration here but the performance is poor. Something that @Last discusses in the hardware requirements.

    After some research I've installed the Nvidia G-Force 6600 GT. The graphics are much improved on ShetchUp but Revit pretty much stayed the same. My drivers may not be correct for the new card since Revit sometimes shuts down when using OpenGL but the MSI drivers seem to roll back and I loose performance.

    Can anyone tell me if,

    1. I should see acceleration in Revit with either of these cards using OpenGL?
    2. I would be better off using Nvidia FX type card for cad performance? I guess I was expecting a bigger difference in performance going to the 6600 on my PC from the ATI 9700Pro.
    Steve J

  2. #2
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    You've got an MSI card? We have had problems with MSI cards and Revit. If you can, swap it out for another brand of nVidia card and see if that helps.
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Posts
    442
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    Wes, is there any particular brand of nVidia card you'd recommend?

  4. #4
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    Oh sure - Asus and AOpen are two fine makes. We've also had good results with Gainward and Chaintech as well, which is to say - we haven't had any problems with these cards yet.

    This is for those people who are buying aftermarket cards or are custom-building their own computers. Large computer mfrs like Dell and Compaq routinely provide their own drivers for nVidia cards which you need to use.
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

  5. #5
    100 Club steve.70285's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    150
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    Thanks Wes,

    As we talk I do not have the MSI video card, I have the MSI motherboard. The card is an e-geforce and I downloaded the new drivers from the manufacturer. Along with that I went into the bios and set agp settings to 256 (this I don't think this has much to do with Revit or SketchUp performance). I also downloaded Performance Test and found along with most categories my 2d and 3d graphic were running quite fast in comparison to benchmarks.

    SketchUp is a much different program now...I can actually get something done on a large file.

    As for Revit, I'm still working with the OpenGL off. I'm just not seeing much difference. It sounds as though this is quite common.
    Steve J

  6. #6
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Posts
    442
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    Quote Originally Posted by steve.70285
    As for Revit, I'm still working with the OpenGL off. I'm just not seeing much difference. It sounds as though this is quite common.
    I think the only time you'll see a difference is with shadows on. I've got an Asus GeForce FX 5200, with OpenGL off it takes about 7 seconds to regenerate shadows on a modest model. With OpenGL enabled it takes about 1-2 seconds.

  7. #7
    100 Club steve.70285's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    150
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    Wow, thanks muttlieb...your right...less than 1 second on mine.
    Steve J

  8. #8
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2003-11
    Posts
    442
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    Cool... Just curious, what is your CPU speed? I've got a P4 2Ghz. When I spin a 3D view the CPU usage pegs out at 100% really fast. I'm looking at upgrading my CPU to at least 3Ghz.

  9. #9
    100 Club steve.70285's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    BC, Canada
    Posts
    150
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    Mine hits 100% also...P4 2.8Ghz...so you'll have to go higher.
    Steve J

  10. #10
    Autodesk Revit Developer
    Join Date
    2004-02
    Location
    Waltham
    Posts
    468
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: From ATI to Nvidia

    Ahem. So it pegs. So what? Look at your experience, not the monitor.

    When you spin the view it tries to redraw everything, which is impossible in real time. So it drops some stuff. On a faster CPU it will drop less stuff. Which means it will be pegged even if it were 20 GHz on a complex enough project.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. What nVidia Driver do I have
    By Andre Baros in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2009-11-06, 03:43 PM
  2. Buying nVidia? Maybe not
    By Wes Macaulay in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2009-06-03, 03:52 PM
  3. nVidia & Autodesk
    By cipa11 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-05-02, 01:51 PM
  4. nVidia and x64 SP2 Do Not Mix!
    By andrew.branch in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-01-02, 03:28 PM
  5. Settings for nVidia?
    By tmomeyer in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2007-08-07, 07:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •