Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Trimming blocks in point styles

  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-05
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    301
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Trimming blocks in point styles

    Does anyone know if there is some sort of setting for point style trimming? See attached image.

    The one in the top left is the block and it trims fine.
    The one in the bottom right is the same block, but in a point style. The trimming is not anywhere near correct.
    The point style is set to a fixed scale, so the point will not scale up or down based on drawing scale.

    Thanks

    Edit: I also just confirmed that it appears that the rotation of the block throws it for the loop. I can trim it fine if no rotation occurs, but once rotated the trimming becomes off.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by CCarleton; 2018-03-15 at 08:33 PM.

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-07
    Posts
    508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming blocks in point styles

    This may not be the ideal way but maybe dont have a block as part of the point style but rather add the block to the Cogo point using its description. Then its a independeant block.

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2015-05
    Location
    West Des Moines
    Posts
    301
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming blocks in point styles

    I'm not quite sure I'm following what you're suggesting. Are you suggesting manually dropping blocks in based on the point description? We already use description key sets to change the point style based on the description.

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,794
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Trimming blocks in point styles

    The trimming is being done based on the extents of the block. It is assuming the block fits in a box from the lower left and upper right corners of the block's displayed coordinates.

    Possible solution would be to add a wipeout within the block. However, you would need to send the block underneath items on a point to point basis.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

Similar Threads

  1. Dynamic Blocks in Point Styles
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-01-31, 01:09 PM
  2. 2013: Extracting blocks from point styles
    By sebastien795355 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-09-12, 10:11 AM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2012-07-25, 07:23 PM
  4. blocks & trimming
    By sherflor in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-12-13, 11:36 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •