See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Intersecting gradings with different slopes and program keeps freezing on the second one

  1. #1
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    195
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Intersecting gradings with different slopes and program keeps freezing on the second one

    I'm not very proficient with Civil 3d because I don't get the opportunity to use it often. I created two feature lines that form a rough rectangle. I created two grading groups to grade to my finished elevation. One feature line has a 3:1 slope, the other 4:1. I was able to grade the first line, but every time I try to grade the second, C3D freezes. I'm not sure if it's because I'm doing something wrong/not best practice/etc, or if my computer doesn't have enough "power".

    Win 7 Pro, SP1 64 bit
    Intel Core i5-3470 CPU @ 3.2 GHz
    8 GB RAM
    Civil 3D 2018

    File located here: https://www.dropbox.com/s/h2tz0b3ugf...018.1.dwg?dl=0

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,405
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Intersecting gradings with different slopes and program keeps freezing on the second one

    I'm assuming you are grading the second feature line on the right toward the currently graded feature line on the left.

    First, your existing surface appears to have vegetation included within the model. You might try to flatten those areas to help with your existing surface.

    I would join the two feature lines before grading. They are on the same site, so they will interact where they cross anyway. Once joined, I would grade the most of the left side using the desired criteria, leaving a length on each end to allow for a transition between slopes. Then repeat with the right side of the feature line, again leaving space on each end to allow for a transition. Once you have graded each side with the desired criteria, add a transition slope between the two previous grading objects.

    Also, you may need to invest in a bit more RAM. That is a tad low for Civil 3D. It is doable, but is not recommended. I've worked with it with less. It was not enjoyable to work with.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    195
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Intersecting gradings with different slopes and program keeps freezing on the second one

    Thanks, I'll try that. What method do you recommend to flatten the vegetated areas?

    I've been asking for a hardware upgrade for more than a year now.

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,405
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Intersecting gradings with different slopes and program keeps freezing on the second one

    Draw a boundary (i.e.: polyline or feature line) around the areas where vegetation appears. Then set the elevation of that boundary to the existing surface. Create a new surface for that area. You could then paste the new surface into the current surface.

    As long as this new surface is further down in the definitions list of the surface, it will override the vegetative areas. Otherwise, you could paste both surfaces into a new one, again following the proper order in the definitions tab of the surface properties dialog box.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    100 Club jgrande26's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Down the rabbit hole
    Posts
    195
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Intersecting gradings with different slopes and program keeps freezing on the second one

    Thank you Opie. It took some fiddling, but I finally accomplished what I was trying to do.

Similar Threads

  1. 2017: Create multiple gradings from multiple feature lines.
    By Jim_Poole in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Grading
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2017-04-27, 02:19 PM
  2. Intersecting walls
    By h.s.meijering in forum Revit - Student Support
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-02-16, 03:46 PM
  3. Writing a Short program from Large Program
    By avinash00002002 in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-07-13, 01:26 AM
  4. Fix Self Intersecting Problems
    By IanR in forum Inventor Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2006-04-28, 01:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •