See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Select a Field in MText and have it highlight the object it is representing?

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    973
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Select a Field in MText and have it highlight the object it is representing?

    when using a field to display an area of a hatch or closed polyline, is there a way to select or highlight the field
    in the mtext and have it display/highlight/zoom to the object it is representing?

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,447
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: Select a Field in MText and have it highlight the object it is representing?

    Not OOTB. You might be able to do it with code.
    C:> ED WORKING....


    LinkedIn

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    973
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Select a Field in MText and have it highlight the object it is representing?

    thanks Ed. appreciate the info. i was so hoping it would

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,676
    Login to Give a bone
    3

    Default Re: Select a Field in MText and have it highlight the object it is representing?


  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    973
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Select a Field in MText and have it highlight the object it is representing?

    thanks Tom. Going to use Lee Mac's routine. totally forgot about him. have used many of his routines in the past.

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,676
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Select a Field in MText and have it highlight the object it is representing?

    Quote Originally Posted by rmk View Post
    thanks Tom. Going to use Lee Mac's routine. totally forgot about him. have used many of his routines in the past.
    That's the one I use as well, here's the macro I use:
    Command Name: Field→Objects
    Description: Display links between Fields & Objects.
    Macro:
    Code:
    ^C^C^P(or C:FieldObjects (load "FieldObjectsV1-0.lsp"));FieldObjects
    Small image: RCDATA_16_INSERT_FIELD
    Large image: RCDATA_32_INSERT_FIELD

    I'm also a heavy user of Lee Mac's routines as well, I have over a dozen macros using his "Steal from Drawing" routine alone. It's my all time favorite download!

Similar Threads

  1. Creating an MText object with a field
    By Jim_Fisher in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2016-10-24, 01:56 PM
  2. select object then have area in field
    By ignjat123 in forum AutoCAD Fields
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-12-17, 08:09 AM
  3. Highlight Selected Object During the Area - Add - Object Command
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-05-26, 06:12 PM
  4. Highlight Object, right click, select Properties causes Fatal Error
    By jlbuilder117922 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-07-30, 06:38 AM
  5. Field editor to highlight selected object
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-06-07, 01:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •