Thread: Unexpected contour lines on surface after adding 3dfaces

Login to Give a bone

Default Unexpected contour lines on surface after adding 3dfaces

This is my first attempt at doing a grading plan so I am just muddling my way through it and have certainly not figuring out best practices yet, so be patient with my process. What I have is an urban renewal project with a detention pond/park are for future housing & business development. So the centerpiece is this pond which grading that was not an issue, but the 12-18 foot tall retaining walls, ramps stairs, etc. were a whole set of hurdles and the first thing I figured out that actually seemed to work was manually creating 3dfaces for every wall face, ramp ect., with the 3dface edges acting like breaklines. It all added easily to the surface, but I got some unexpected and clearly wrong results with the contours. On my verticle walls I used a 0.125 offset so that the walls all had a tilt from top to bottom. So I see two issues with the contours that I am wondering if there is a single fix for.

Here is a corner of the wall where the thick magenta line is the bottom of the wall and the pond is to the NW. The blue is the top of the wall and to the S & E is a sidewalk. All of these contours should be between the Magenta & Blue lines.
    Attachment 106715
    Here’s a shot of one area where the 3dfaces are at the correct elevations, but the contours are way off and I wonder if this is the same problem with the corners of the wall.
    steps.jpg

How do I get the contour lins to stay on the wall????

- - - Updated - - -
    Attached Images Attached Images

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: Unexpected contour lines on surface after adding 3dfaces

Kind of hard to tell without having the DWG file.

Contours are a _result_ of the triangulation. They simply connect LIKE elevations on the TIN. Have you examined the TIN lines (triangles) to see what they are doing?
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Login to Give a bone