See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Standard versus Proximity breaklines.

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    636
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Standard versus Proximity breaklines.

    I have graded a parking lot by the back of curb as the base feature lines with grading object as the feature lines.

    I have done this many times but something is going horribly wrong now with adding some feature lines for a couple of raised elevated pads bu using the Select surface command. I have done this many times in the past and it has always gone really smooth. it added some unwanted ripples that needed some attention but usually cleaned up well with swapping a few triangle edges.

    I am at a new company now and once I try to add a new feature line by interpolating the proposed surface and then add it to the surface it just send the TIN and related contour lines to a haywire state.

    The only thing I can come up with as being the monkey wrench in this is under -Surface Properties -Definition tab -build, I see "convert proximity breaklines to standard" is Yes.

    Is there any difference between Standard and Proximity breaklines?

    I was taught a long time ago to use proximity.

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,405
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Standard versus Proximity breaklines.

    Have you attempted to change that setting to No?

    From my understanding of Proximity Breaklines, they provide a breakline in the surface from the nearest points to the breakline. Converting them to Standard Breaklines would place a breakline at the location of the Proximity breakline. This standard breakline would be similar to a 3d polyline at the surface elevations where the breakline is located.

    I hope that makes sense. Furthermore, I hope it is correct. I've not really thought about or used that feature much.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

Similar Threads

  1. 2014: Roof Planes--New versus Existing versus "modified" (cut)?
    By mleinback in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-03-24, 05:00 AM
  2. Crash creating breaklines by proximity polylines
    By cof999616480 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Surfaces
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-05-12, 12:56 AM
  3. Proximity of Label to Duct - wiping out Duct!!
    By paul_mep in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-02-15, 08:38 PM
  4. Layer control via proximity of pick
    By IanR in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2006-11-06, 05:50 PM
  5. Breaklines
    By captainbunsaver in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-01-31, 03:51 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •