See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: GPSX import?

  1. #1
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default GPSX import?

    Any useful utilities for importing gps tracks and waypoints? Ideally reading the gpsx file and generating plines / points?
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  2. #2
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,517
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    Looks like QGIS has a few to choose from:

    2018-10-08_10-23-04.png


    [Edit] - This might also help: https://docs.qgis.org/2.8/en/docs/us...ugins_gps.html

    FWIW, I had more luck with the 32-bit installer, but working a treat since installing it... Now handles GDB/MDB natively (no supplementary configuration needed anymore).

    Cheers
    Last edited by BlackBox; 2018-10-08 at 02:35 PM.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    I can work with that -- of course if you're interested in writing native import routine in Acad, I'll be happy to test it out for you, Mapping some hiking trails in a state park, and am running a handheld Garmin device to do it.

    Pity autodesk has so little interest in interoperability, but that seems to have been the case for decades now.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  4. #4
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,517
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    I can work with that -- of course if you're interested in writing native import routine in Acad, I'll be happy to test it out for you, Mapping some hiking trails in a state park, and am running a handheld Garmin device to do it.

    Pity autodesk has so little interest in interoperability, but that seems to have been the case for decades now.
    Can you post a sample data file so I can take a look?

    Maybe it's easier than we think... Fixing Viewport Grip to _not_ re-size on Scale certainly was... Took me 2+ years to get p!ssed, but only +20 mins to fix. Grrr


    Separately, one of these days I should start a GoFundMe page, so I could substitute some of the OT hours I currently work, to help fill in the plethora of gaps in AutoCAD products... So many creative ideas, so little free time these days. Haha

    Cheers
    Last edited by BlackBox; 2018-10-09 at 04:14 PM.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    sure, I'll post a hiking trail gpx today. need to do it before Michael kills the power and telecomm in the Panhandle. By morning i'll probably be sitting in the dark with no ac, phone, or internet. Good thing i've got a stack of books to read by candle light.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  6. #6
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,517
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    I was just coming back to say no worries, take all the time you need and to just stay safe; my thoughts are with you & wifey.

    I love reading books; I've got stacks, as I prefer hardcover when available.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    Well as long can still connect, i'll keep on keeping on. Hunkering down time is coming RSN

    I attached a gpx from a short trail, rename the extension back to gpx from txt

    I _think_ that the output should be 3dPolys, as there should be elevation information with the track. The other element(s) if any would be waypoints, and ideally they ought to become a block in the DWG,

    cheers!
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  8. #8
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,517
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    Good news, this is just XML data.

    Do you prefer to import .GPX data into C3D directly as COGO Points/*Polylines, or just right click .GPX in File Explorer and convert point file for import using 'Lat-Long' Point File Format, Survey DB, etc?

    More information is needed.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  9. #9
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,517
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    This also seems to work and supports multiple output file types (DXF, SHP, etc), so long as you don't mind a multi-step workflow (upload, convert, download, unblock, extract, import/open in CAD):

    https://mygeodata.cloud/converter/gpx-to-dxf

    Also has a neat map view that shows the data IRL.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  10. #10
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: GPSX import?

    Direct import as 3dpoly's, letting me pick/create layer for the linestrings, and points/block for the vertices or any waypoints in the gpx/ ( I don't think I had any set in that track on the Garmin)

    format spec doc is at https://www.topografix.com/gpx/1/1/
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Import Failed when attempting to import Solidworks Model into AutoCAD
    By jgrabner in forum AutoCAD 3D (2007 and above)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2016-03-29, 04:16 PM
  2. 2013: "Import detected no valid elements in the file's paper space. Do you want to import from the model space?
    By thomasmerrittgibson397439 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-07-05, 06:53 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-07-09, 03:09 PM
  4. DWG and DXF Import
    By length zero in forum Robot Structural Analysis
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-05-03, 03:15 PM
  5. BRE U Value Import
    By Roger Evans in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-09-19, 12:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •