Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Export Autocad 3D drawing into Google earth

  1. #1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Export Autocad 3D drawing into Google earth

    I need help on how to get a kml file exported into google earth to be in the correct position. When I try exporting a drawing from autocad 3D to google earth, it does not fall in the right position, and I tried all tricks that I can but no way to get it right. Please help

  2. #2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Export Autocad 3D drawing into Google earth

    I assume you are using AutoCAD MAP 3D, since plain AutoCAD has no provision for this. For the export to work properly your drawing has to be assigned a coordinate system (see the ADESETCRDSYS command). Then it's also critical that your geometry has coordinates that lie within that assigned coordinate system. For example if your drawing system were LL84 (not likely) the coordinates would have to be from -180,-90 to 180,90 (lat/longs).

    You may have to check with the original creator of the drawing if it wasn't you, and you may have to enlist the help of a surveyor to transform your drawing. In summary, if it's assigned a system and your drawing coordinates are correct, your KML will hit correctly, otherwise there's not much chance of it.

  3. #3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Export Autocad 3D drawing into Google earth

    Thanks for the reply. I am using Autocad civil 3D. There is a function "Export KML" under Tools. It works well just that the drawing does not go in the right position. The drawing is from the Survey General Department. They assured me that in Autocad it is in the right position but then it moves away when I send it into google earth. I don't know what I am not doing right.

  4. #4
    Geospatial Moderator Jmurphy's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    TN/KY Area
    Posts
    1,640
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Export Autocad 3D drawing into Google earth

    Did you try the "ADESETCRDSYS" command to see if it has coordinate system assign to it? If you bring in an online map "GEOMAP" command does it some the image in the drawing correct?
    J. Murphy
    AKA
    Murph
    The former AutoCAD MAP3D Power User

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2018-12
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Export Autocad 3D drawing into Google earth

    Quote Originally Posted by dotson View Post
    I assume you are using AutoCAD MAP 3D, since plain AutoCAD has no provision for this. For the export to work properly your drawing has to be assigned a coordinate system (see the ADESETCRDSYS command). Then it's also critical that your geometry has coordinates that lie within that assigned coordinate system. For example if your drawing system were LL84 (not likely) the coordinates would have to be from -180,-90 to 180,90 (lat/longs).

    You may have to check with the original creator of the drawing if it wasn't you, and you may have to enlist the help of a surveyor to transform your drawing. In summary, if it's assigned a system and your drawing coordinates are correct, your KML will hit correctly, otherwise there's not much of it.
    Can this really be done? Wow. It seems so interesting to read the way you are describing it. Is there is reference page that I can use to understand more?

Similar Threads

  1. Export to Google Earth, don't follow contours
    By Eric Stewart in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-03-08, 08:45 PM
  2. Google Earth Export - Include timeliner information
    By jobwallis724305 in forum NavisWorks - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-08-01, 09:58 AM
  3. google earth connection - globe link vs google earth extension
    By rpict in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2010-06-21, 03:27 PM
  4. Google Earth Export Colors
    By jason.combs in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2008-04-15, 07:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •