See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Posts
    97
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

    Just installed AutoCad 2019 on my machine running 2018. Saw the one-time migration screen pop-up, but somehow lost it. Tried to reinstall the software (successfully) but no more migration screen. I need to bring in all my customizations and menuing from 2018, and have always used the migration utility. How do I get it to run?

    Many thanks!

  2. #2
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,428
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

    AdMigrator.exe is in the 'AutoCAD 2019' install folder.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Posts
    97
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    AdMigrator.exe is in the 'AutoCAD 2019' install folder.
    Sorry to sound like such a noob, but where can this install folder be found?

  4. #4
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,428
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

    Quote Originally Posted by crbateman View Post
    Sorry to sound like such a noob, but where can this install folder be found?
    No worries; we all start somewhere.

    Code:
    C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2019\AdMigrator.exe
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2006-12
    Posts
    97
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    No worries; we all start somewhere.

    Code:
    C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2019\AdMigrator.exe
    Yeah, I did... in 1987... Still feel like a noob almost every day. Anyway, found the file, and all is well. Thanks!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    2010-10
    Posts
    42
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    No worries; we all start somewhere.
    Like this answer ^^

  7. #7
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,602
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Wink Re: Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

    Quote Originally Posted by crbateman View Post
    Just installed AutoCad 2019 on my machine running 2018. Saw the one-time migration screen pop-up, but somehow lost it. Tried to reinstall the software (successfully) but no more migration screen. I need to bring in all my customizations and menuing from 2018, and have always used the migration utility. How do I get it to run?
    Don't do it.....



    But seriously, if you'll keep all of your custom stuff such as acad.lsp, acaddoc.lsp, partial menus, lisp files, hatch patterns, linetype files, etc., in a folder like C:\CADSTUFF (for example), then 'migrating' is easy.
    Then all you have to do, is add this path to the top of your support file search path, and you're done.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  8. #8
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,428
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: Missed the one-time migration screen... What now?

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Don't do it.....

    Ha!

    Just helped our newest user with this yesterday... He'd wanted to use the migration tool... No worries, I'm all about giving folks all the 'rope' they want.

    Then later, he can't figure out why his Pipe Networks in that drawing he just upgraded from 2016 to 2019 aren't able to be edited... Perfect opportunity to demonstrate why Autodesk's migration tool completely sucks, as it precludes all AutoCAD vertical dependencies like Part Catalogs, etc then taught him how to fix it.

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    But seriously, if you'll keep all of your custom stuff such as acad.lsp, acaddoc.lsp, partial menus, lisp files, hatch patterns, linetype files, etc., in a folder like C:\CADSTUFF (for example), then 'migrating' is easy.
    Then all you have to do, is add this path to the top of your support file search path, and you're done.
    1+

    Just be mindful that users, like children, never appreciate what they have until they actually have to do it for themselves.

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

Similar Threads

  1. View MS & PS at the same time (split screen/frame)??
    By ameador in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2008-10-01, 05:00 PM
  2. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 2006-11-07, 07:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •