See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Acad 2004 compatability

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Acad 2004 compatability

    My XP PC is pretty old and subject to hacks and viruses. I would like to replace my PC with a newer one, but it has to be able to run Acad 2004.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,714
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad 2004 compatability

    well, good luck with that. Probably not going to be easy.

    Rather than futz around with a decade and a half old version of the software, you might consider trying out the free-to-use-for-any-purpose Draftsight, of the paid version Draftsight Pro.

    Or explore one of the Intellicad versions, BricsCAD or Ares Commander -- all DWG compatible, and cheaper than the rental upgrade from Adesk.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,428
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Acad 2004 compatability

    Why not buy a new computer running Win10x64 Enterprise and host your WinXPx86 image in a client Hyper-V VM?

    You've got valid licenses for all of the software you have, the rest comes with the new computer... When you need AutoCAD, just fire up the VM.


    [Edit] - For converting WinXP to VM, here's what you need to know about using Disk2VHD.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    18
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad 2004 compatability

    Thank you for your assistance. I'm thinking I may be better off to just use my XP computer as a dedicated Acad machine and get a ne computer for everything else. I'm really not very computer savvy.

  5. #5
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,603
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Acad 2004 compatability

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Ron View Post
    I'm thinking I may be better off to just use my XP computer as a dedicated Acad machine and get a ne computer for everything else.
    As long as the hardware keeps running, you should be alright. Just keep that thing off the Internet

    When it does die, presuming you can not longer make use of the ACAD 2004, I second what @cadtag said and consider getting another perpetual license, of BricsCAD.
    AutoCAD is only available now as a rental, which also may be something to consider if you only use it occasionally. A one month rental is $195.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,714
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Acad 2004 compatability

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post


    [Edit] - For converting WinXP to VM, here's what you need to know about using Disk2VHD.

    good info, thx
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  7. #7
    Programming Moderator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,428
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Acad 2004 compatability

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Ron View Post
    Thank you for your assistance. I'm thinking I may be better off to just use my XP computer as a dedicated Acad machine and get a ne computer for everything else. I'm really not very computer savvy.
    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    good info, thx
    You're welcome, gents.

    My Surveyor (VP of the firm) still uses AutoCAD 2000 + Eagle Point daily on his old WinXP box... Even after buying him a schnazzy new workstation, and replacing the legacy box's MOBO following some blown capacitors, he still preferred me to setup a double click + RDP session to his old workstation.

    Porting his physical machine to a virtual machine is the only way to give him what he wants, yet mitigate continuous hardware failures, or necessary hardware components from no longer being available. The only other thing we needed was some USB port redirecting software, that let's his VM be able to communicate with the hardware data collectors, etc from the field crews.

    What kills me, is his x86 CPU + 3 GB RAM can _still_ open his 2000 drawings faster than my x64 CPU + 32 GB RAM can open his 2000 drawing using 2012-2019. Haha
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,603
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Acad 2004 compatability

    Quote Originally Posted by BlackBox View Post
    What kills me, is his x86 CPU + 3 GB RAM can _still_ open his 2000 drawings faster than my x64 CPU + 32 GB RAM can open his 2000 drawing using 2012-2019. Haha
    #BLOAT

    FWIW - I have R13 (not 2013, but 1996's "R13") - running on my Win 10 box.
    It's SUPER FAST, as it should be.

    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Vista - ACAD 2004 with Vista?
    By mrfrancisleung in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-02-06, 01:57 PM
  2. ACAD 2007 saving down to ACAD 2004 - ARX Error: eDuplicateKey
    By Dicastaddict1 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-10-26, 03:35 PM
  3. Acad-A_Title.dwt in Lt 2004
    By heronworks in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-04-28, 02:55 AM
  4. Need to covert 1992 Acad dwgs to present 2004/5 Acad!
    By anapier in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-02-17, 05:51 AM
  5. License mgr. ACAD 2004 & XP Pro.
    By reed.76512 in forum Networks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-10-06, 09:11 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •