See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Importing Layer Filters into multiple drawings

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    2017-05
    Posts
    19
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing Layer Filters into multiple drawings

    Thanks Tom. Sounds like its a problem to be solved in later versions perhaps.
    Yes, have audited and recovered due to the crashing problems. No beans.
    I don't see how you avoid those layer filters - they are automatically put into the list and you can't select which ones to import/export.
    Thanks

  2. #12
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,667
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing Layer Filters into multiple drawings

    First from a drawing without any Xrefs or the offending Layer Filters run LayerSaveFilterTree so LayerLoadFilterTree cannot create these issues again.
    Set UCS to World first and try the Entire drawing option of WBLOCK command.
    or insert the drawing into a blank one.
    or use the FILTERS command to select ones for deleting.
    Last edited by Tom Beauford; 2019-06-05 at 07:31 PM.

  3. #13
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,667
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Importing Layer Filters into multiple drawings

    Running this lisp will remove all Layer Filters. Toggle the Layer Palette off then back on to update it's display.
    Code:
    ; Delete Layer Filters by Lee Mac
    (defun c:dlf ( )
       (
           (lambda ( _vla-remove dictionary )
               (_vla-remove "ACLYDICTIONARY"   dictionary)
               (_vla-remove "ACAD_LAYERFILTERS" dictionary)
           )
           (lambda ( item dictionary )
               (vl-catch-all-apply 'vla-remove (list dictionary item))
           )
           (vla-getextensiondictionary
               (vla-get-layers (vla-get-activedocument (vlax-get-acad-object)))
           )
       )
       (princ)
    )
    (vl-load-com) (princ)
    Last edited by BlackBox; 2019-06-05 at 10:13 PM.

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    2017-05
    Posts
    19
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing Layer Filters into multiple drawings

    Thanks for the Lisp, that's helpful. I had also made a filter from one of our blank templates, essentially the same.
    I have having success in other files loading these filters (just quick test files). Its just that first file which has a duplicate of "All non-Xref Layers" which cant be removed even with that LISP routine and crashes if I click on one of those duplicates.
    Well, I think this might be an anomaly, working in other files and found some new solutions to work with. Ill just work around it for now within this file.
    Thanks for the help!

  5. #15
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,667
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Importing Layer Filters into multiple drawings

    Quote Originally Posted by Sterling2017 View Post
    Thanks for the Lisp, that's helpful. I had also made a filter from one of our blank templates, essentially the same.
    I have having success in other files loading these filters (just quick test files). Its just that first file which has a duplicate of "All non-Xref Layers" which cant be removed even with that LISP routine and crashes if I click on one of those duplicates.
    Well, I think this might be an anomaly, working in other files and found some new solutions to work with. Ill just work around it for now within this file.
    Thanks for the help!
    For removing things like that I've had luck with saving the file as a DXF, opening it in a ascii text editor and searching for "All non-Xref Layers". You would need to get somewhat familiar with DXF format to tell which parts to remove, but as long as you change the name so the original file isn't going to get overwritten even partially deleting the Layer filter should be enough for AUDIT to finish cleaning it up.

    Really is something AutoCAD's staff needs to fix.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. 2010: Can I use layer group filters for layer translation (LAYTRANS)?
    By Besni in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2013-10-04, 06:52 AM
  2. View Filters Overriding Phase Filters
    By tracyt in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-03-02, 12:59 AM
  3. Importing AutoCAD 2D drawings into an Inventor drawing file
    By jimmy.long in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2009-01-09, 03:01 PM
  4. TIP - Importing Drawings into Project Navigator
    By burchd in forum Project Navigator
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-04-25, 05:56 PM
  5. Importing & Exporting Layer Filters?
    By brian.young in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-06-29, 03:07 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •