See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Adding Functions to Right-Click Menus

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    73
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Adding Functions to Right-Click Menus

    Hey all -
    Is there a way to add functions to the Right-Click menu? I'm working on several projects, and bouncing between 2016 and 2018 software versions, and I'm noticing that in 2018 there are RC functions that are not there in 2016. The command that I want exists and works in 2016 - specifically the "Reset Block" command while a dynamic block is selected - but I miss it on the RC menu.

    Is there a way to add this, or any other command that I may frequently use to the RC menu?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    73
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Adding Functions to Right-Click Menus

    I should clarify and follow-up. After some experimentation, I realized that I was working in Civil 3D 2016, which, like other C3d versions do not have the 'reset block' command in the RC menu. I found the location in the CUI where such menu's reside, but was unable to duplicate it from vanilla Acad into C3d.

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,074
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Adding Functions to Right-Click Menus

    Use the Transfer tab and open acad.cuix on the right. Drag Reset Block from the Block Reference Object Menu on the right to the one on the left. To be honest I've added extensive Shortcut Menus so you may have to add the Block Reference Object Menu to c3d.cuix. If you add it you must set the Aliases to OBJECT_BLOCKREF.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2019 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    73
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Adding Functions to Right-Click Menus

    I was able to bring in the Menu object, but when I applied and OK'd it, it was not showing up when I selected a block. After a restart - it was gone from my CUI entirely. When I get more time, I'm going to look into this further. Thanks at least for the procedure on how to steal from other CUIX files. That whole "TRANSFER" tab scares me, so I rarely go into it.

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,074
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Adding Functions to Right-Click Menus

    In my previous post I said "may have to add the Block Reference Object Menu to c3d.cuix." c3d.cuix is my main cuix file your's is probably different.

    From AutoCAD 2020 help:
    About Shortcut Menus: http://help.autodesk.com/view/ACD/20...2-4134C7031B2F
    About Creating Shortcut Menus: http://help.autodesk.com/view/ACD/20...1-EB49923E317D
    Note the different Aliases requirements for Object Specific Shortcut Menus. The object name is used as part of the alias name of most object shortcut menus cases except for blocks and external references (xrefs). The following object names are used specifically for blocks and xrefs:

    ATTBLOCKREF - Block reference with attributes
    ATTDYNBLOCKREF - Dynamic block reference with attributes
    BLOCKREF - Block reference without attributes
    DYNBLOCKREF - Dynamic block reference without attributes
    XREF - External reference (xref)

    While there are no default ones installed you can also add "Command Specific Shortcut Menus" which would be available while a command is active.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2019 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2007-07
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    73
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Adding Functions to Right-Click Menus

    Thanks! I got it working now. My Ah-ha! moment was from those help files when I discovered that I could add more than one alias to a menu. This allowed me to drop all the various block functions under one new menu. Boy, they sure don't make this easy, do they?

    Thanks again!

    side note - any idea why those block editor commands were left off of the default C3d profile? Blocks are such a huge part of Acad workflow, it doesn't make sense to not have the tools to use them at the ready.

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,074
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Adding Functions to Right-Click Menus

    Quote Originally Posted by magnusonzach View Post
    side note - any idea why those block editor commands were left off of the default C3d profile? Blocks are such a huge part of Acad workflow, it doesn't make sense to not have the tools to use them at the ready.
    I'd like to see a hierarchical ability added so if the main CUI doesn't have a certain Shortcut Menu but a Partial CUI did that Shortcut Menu would work. Just letting use the Shortcut Menus from my custom Partial CUI instead would make my life easier. As it is I've been copying a lot of Shortcut Menus with each Civil 3D upgrade.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2019 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

Similar Threads

  1. 2010: 2010 C3d- Lost some right click functions
    By hankl32211636161 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-01-29, 02:06 PM
  2. HELP! Right Click missing menus
    By mcoffman in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2013-06-19, 10:59 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-03-05, 02:06 PM
  4. Main CUI and Right-Click Menus
    By stilesj in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-03-23, 01:26 AM
  5. Migrating Shift-Right Click Menus
    By cwade in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-06-12, 10:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •