See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Drawing List table with CTAB field

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2014-01
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Drawing List table with CTAB field

    We use single AutoCAD file per project and each tab as a sheet and a block showing information for each sheet. We usually insert a table on first sheet (tab) showing the drawing list.
    I have previously used CTAB field to automatically insert the tab name (CTAB variable) as the sheet number. But cannot find means to use the value of CTAB for each tab into the table as a field. I also need to retrieve the value of an attribute which is the description of drawing sheet (e.g. Foundation plan, North Elevation etc.) from each tab (sheet). This is part of a block on each tab.
    Is this possible? I tried to look at the Sheet Manager but could not go far with it.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,147
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: Drawing List table with CTAB field

    I don't think it's possible, the CTAB is the "current tab" and so will only display the tab name the field is on.

    I highly recommend you look into SSM, because it literally has what you're trying to do built in to it, complete with a sheet index that reads all the project sheet numbers and descriptions.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 7 Professional
    AutoCAD 2017 - REVIT 2017 - Inventor Professional 2015 (when I can)

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,620
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Drawing List table with CTAB field

    If you wanted to use autolisp, it's easy to retrieve the layout names = (layoutlist) function, and then you could populate your table with this data.

    Otherwise, Sheet Set Manager can do it automatically, but there is a little up front setup.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Similar Threads

  1. CTAB Field prints as pound sign when using Publish
    By ahearrean in forum AutoCAD Fields
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2016-08-03, 01:04 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2012-10-17, 08:47 PM
  3. Extract value of ctab field to xls file
    By paulof in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2011-05-01, 08:30 PM
  4. Replies: 17
    Last Post: 2009-03-01, 03:00 AM
  5. First or Last Didgets in CTAB
    By Zuke in forum AutoCAD Fields
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2008-03-16, 06:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •