Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

  1. #1
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,302
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    So, I've been a pretty faithful Logitech user over the years.
    I've currently got an M510, purchased it two years ago this week. Huh.

    Anyway, it suddenly started acting like it is double-clicking on a single click.
    I tried going into mouse settings and slowing down the click speed, but, it hasn't worked.

    I don't seem to have a problem with the laptops built in mouse buttons.

    Anyone have any suggestions about what I could do to fix this?
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,661
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    I would try cleaning it, blowing out dust, etc. There are 2 screws under the battery so you can take the bottom off. Each button has a microswitch.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,302
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    I would try cleaning it, blowing out dust, etc. There are 2 screws under the battery so you can take the bottom off. Each button has a microswitch.
    Ah... I did clean the optical sensor, but, I didn't think about the buttons themselves... derp. I'll give that a try.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,766
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    you could also try testing it as a wheel chock for an SUV -- that ought to give the buttons a solid workout after you drive over it a couple of times...
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  5. #5
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,302
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    you could also try testing it as a wheel chock for an SUV -- that ought to give the buttons a solid workout after you drive over it a couple of times...
    lol, sounds good... would the same benefits be derived from driving over it with a sedan? hmmm.

    Anyway, I had the day off yesterday, and I came back today (not having done anything to the mouse actually), and it's working again, after days of maddening behavior. ~blink blink~
    Well, if it recurs, I'll try cleaning inside.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  6. #6
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,661
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanderer View Post
    lol, sounds good... would the same benefits be derived from driving over it with a sedan? hmmm.

    Anyway, I had the day off yesterday, and I came back today (not having done anything to the mouse actually), and it's working again, after days of maddening behavior. ~blink blink~
    Well, if it recurs, I'll try cleaning inside.
    That's kind of like what happens to my wife. She'll complain something's broken and then when I look at it, it works. "Sure, it always works for you!"
    C:> ED WORKING....

  7. #7
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,302
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    That's kind of like what happens to my wife. She'll complain something's broken and then when I look at it, it works. "Sure, it always works for you!"
    Oh yeah, asking for help fixes most things. lol. I have that 'IT Magic', too.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

Similar Threads

  1. Single Click becomes double click...
    By Jun Austria in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-04-02, 05:52 AM
  2. More use of right-click and double-click actions
    By IanR in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-02-05, 06:40 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-09-12, 08:58 PM
  4. Right Click or Double Click
    By Steve_Stafford in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2003-05-27, 06:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •