Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

  1. #1
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,356
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    So, I've been a pretty faithful Logitech user over the years.
    I've currently got an M510, purchased it two years ago this week. Huh.

    Anyway, it suddenly started acting like it is double-clicking on a single click.
    I tried going into mouse settings and slowing down the click speed, but, it hasn't worked.

    I don't seem to have a problem with the laptops built in mouse buttons.

    Anyone have any suggestions about what I could do to fix this?
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, & Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,798
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    I would try cleaning it, blowing out dust, etc. There are 2 screws under the battery so you can take the bottom off. Each button has a microswitch.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,356
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    I would try cleaning it, blowing out dust, etc. There are 2 screws under the battery so you can take the bottom off. Each button has a microswitch.
    Ah... I did clean the optical sensor, but, I didn't think about the buttons themselves... derp. I'll give that a try.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, & Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,896
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    you could also try testing it as a wheel chock for an SUV -- that ought to give the buttons a solid workout after you drive over it a couple of times...
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  5. #5
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,356
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    you could also try testing it as a wheel chock for an SUV -- that ought to give the buttons a solid workout after you drive over it a couple of times...
    lol, sounds good... would the same benefits be derived from driving over it with a sedan? hmmm.

    Anyway, I had the day off yesterday, and I came back today (not having done anything to the mouse actually), and it's working again, after days of maddening behavior. ~blink blink~
    Well, if it recurs, I'll try cleaning inside.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, & Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  6. #6
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,798
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    Quote Originally Posted by Wanderer View Post
    lol, sounds good... would the same benefits be derived from driving over it with a sedan? hmmm.

    Anyway, I had the day off yesterday, and I came back today (not having done anything to the mouse actually), and it's working again, after days of maddening behavior. ~blink blink~
    Well, if it recurs, I'll try cleaning inside.
    That's kind of like what happens to my wife. She'll complain something's broken and then when I look at it, it works. "Sure, it always works for you!"
    C:> ED WORKING....

  7. #7
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,356
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Mouse Suddenly Wants to Double-click

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    That's kind of like what happens to my wife. She'll complain something's broken and then when I look at it, it works. "Sure, it always works for you!"
    Oh yeah, asking for help fixes most things. lol. I have that 'IT Magic', too.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use BricsCAD, Revit, & Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

Similar Threads

  1. Single Click becomes double click...
    By Jun Austria in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-04-02, 05:52 AM
  2. More use of right-click and double-click actions
    By revit.wishlist1942 in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2008-02-05, 06:40 AM
  3. Hierarchy of Shortcut Menus, Double Click Actions and Mouse Buttons
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2007-09-12, 08:58 PM
  4. Right Click or Double Click
    By Steve_Stafford in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2003-05-27, 06:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •