Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Reactors to place view ports and label blocks for views on specific layers.

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to jpcadconsulting347236's Avatar
    Join Date
    2011-09
    Posts
    300
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Reactors to place view ports and label blocks for views on specific layers.

    Here's another... eh... challenge I've encountered.

    When you place a view on a sheet using the SSM, the view port and the label block for that view are created/inserted on whatever layer is current.

    Is there any way to specify those layers? So the view port would be created on (for example) L-VIEWPORT and the label block would be inserted on (for example) L-ANNO-SYMB?

    I thought maybe a reactor... but I'm not well versed in reactors... yet.

    Thanks again,

    -JP
    James Pertusi

    CAD Applications Consultant
    1 (646) 773 4834
    www.jpcadconsulting.com

  2. #2
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,536
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Reactors to place view ports and label blocks for views on specific layers.

    Quote Originally Posted by jpcadconsulting347236 View Post
    I thought maybe a reactor... but I'm not well versed in reactors... yet.
    Sounds like after all these years of professional LISP development as a consultant, you've stumbled upon the challenge within the challenge... Learning yourself some Reactors! :hooray:

    #BonusChallengeRevealed


    As a starting point, I'd recommend using MgdDbg to see what events are firing when you do what you're trying to do, then see if LISP has a Reactor for that to do what you want.

    Think of this is like the Oregon Trail game, but with code... Will JP make it... Or die from [LISP]entery...? Haha

    Cheers
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  3. #3
    I could stop if I wanted to jpcadconsulting347236's Avatar
    Join Date
    2011-09
    Posts
    300
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Reactors to place view ports and label blocks for views on specific layers.

    Hilarious that you quote Oregon Trail. I died of dysentery hundreds of times in my youth.

    I actually found a reactor in for the Viewport that works in another forum (ok to post?)

    https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/visua...r/td-p/1853577

    I'm trying to modify it to work with the block that is inserted with the viewport and then hopefully with the other SSM blocks.

    I'll keep you posted on my "progress".

    Thanks BlackBox, as always!

    -JP
    James Pertusi

    CAD Applications Consultant
    1 (646) 773 4834
    www.jpcadconsulting.com

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: View ports and line weights not plotting correctly ACAD 2013
    By elizabeth.tobiashanadel in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2014-11-21, 11:47 AM
  2. View Ports and Walls
    By tim.glass in forum ACA General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-09-21, 10:34 PM
  3. Different line weight in different view ports
    By rosborn in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-07-04, 04:44 AM
  4. view ports
    By CHRISTINE.S in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-05-02, 07:19 PM
  5. pline view ports
    By cconner in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2004-06-16, 02:48 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •