See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: plot command does not use supplied .ctb file

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-01
    Posts
    43
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default plot command does not use supplied .ctb file

    Can someone please explain to me why the -plot (command-line) command will not accept a .ctb file for plotting? (The drawings are already set up to use .ctb files for plotting.) It works fine in the dialog box but not from the command line. Here is the code I'm trying to implement:
    Code:
    (command "-PLOT" "YES" "MODEL" _Plotter _SheetName "INCHES" _Orientation "NO" "WINDOW" _ptLowerLeft _ptUpperRight (strcat "1=" (rtos _PlotScale 2 1)) "CENTER" "YES" "F:/PEN TABLES/HES.STANDARD.CTB" "NO" "AS DISPLAYED" "NO" "NO" "YES")
    Note that this doesn't work even when I enter these values directly at the command prompt. I have also tried this command answering "no" to 'plot with styles' and have also left out the directory (HES.STANDARD.CTB). Nothing seems to work.

    Any help is greatly appreciated.
    Last edited by BlackBox; 2019-07-30 at 01:47 PM. Reason: Please use [CODE] Tags; removed extra closing bracket

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: plot command does not use supplied .ctb file

    Wow, that looks like a hot mess.

    Using Layouts with Page setups this macro will plot any I have no matter the size or plot device it should go to:
    Code:
    ^C^C-Plot;No;;;;No;No;Yes
    All our Page setups include the Plot Style table with Plot area set to Layout so they always plot correctly. Makes Publishing an entire project pretty simple as well.

    I've never seen a path included with a Plot Style before, why isn't it in your Plot Style Table Search Path?

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-07
    Posts
    40
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: plot command does not use supplied .ctb file

    I may be wrong, but I think the ctb assigned has to be found within the defined plot style path listed under Options -> File -> Printer Support File Path -> Plot Style Table Search Path … I think once you add your folder to the search location list (it can be more than one search folder), you should be able to use "HES.STANDARD.CTB" for the value.

    Rob

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: plot command does not use supplied .ctb file

    Quote Originally Posted by Rob_Miller View Post
    I may be wrong, but I think the ctb assigned has to be found within the defined plot style path listed under Options -> File -> Printer Support File Path -> Plot Style Table Search Path … I think once you add your folder to the search location list (it can be more than one search folder), you should be able to use "HES.STANDARD.CTB" for the value.

    Rob
    Correct, though I still prefer the way we had to handle multiple plot style folders before multiple folder locations were allowed. Adding shortcuts to the other folders in each of them works just as well and makes navigating between them easier. While I've got quite a collection from consultants we've worked with names with spaces and many different characters in them that's the first one I've seen with a period in it. Wonder it that was the problem?

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-12-10, 07:10 PM
  2. .ctb.ctb plot file?
    By Rico in forum AutoCAD Plotting
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-05-12, 04:36 PM
  3. Revit supplied sash window problem
    By ws in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-05-24, 06:52 AM
  4. Create circle from information supplied
    By noadea in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-01-16, 07:59 AM
  5. Existing Doors supplied by the factory?
    By DaveP in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 2005-07-27, 10:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •