Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Circle Thickness

  1. #1
    Wish List Administration
    Join Date
    2011-08
    Posts
    4,581

    Default Re: Circle Thickness

    Summary: Be able to put a Thickness on a Typical Circle

    Description: Be able to put a Thickness on a Typical Circle.

    Product and Feature: AutoCAD - Drawing Tools 2D

    Submitted By: k.d.madsen on 09/10/2019


  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,168

    Default Re: Circle Thickness

    Yes that would be useful.
    It can be done already with the "donut" command which is basically a Pline (poly line) circle with a thickness.
    But you need to dial in the outside and inside diameters, which is a bit clunky in my opinion.

    It would be nice to simply create a circle, and /or make it a Pline and assign a width to it.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 7 Professional
    AutoCAD 2017 - REVIT 2017 - Inventor Professional 2015 (when I can)

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,183

    Default Re: Circle Thickness

    Kent Cooper's lisps for converting either Circle to Polyline or Polyline to Circle: https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/visua...520233#M330236
    Haven't used it in years though as lineweight works on everything I need.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2019 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  4. #4
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,648

    Default Re: Circle Thickness

    This has been possible for probably 25+ years.

    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,738

    Default Re: Circle Thickness

    Since 1985 as far as I recall.

    applying thickness to a stipple hatch made my IBM XT run awfully slow....
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,168

    Default Re: Circle Thickness

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    This has been possible for probably 25+ years.

    Maybe I misunderstood the OP, but I thought he meant "width" not ("thickness" = 3D depth), which something you can't do yet AFIK.
    Last edited by tedg; 2019-09-12 at 11:36 AM.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 7 Professional
    AutoCAD 2017 - REVIT 2017 - Inventor Professional 2015 (when I can)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •