Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Attributes Within Multi View Blocks

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    194
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Attributes Within Multi View Blocks

    I am trying to set up title blocks with fields linking through to project/sheet set data.

    I am having problems with the fields not updating when nested in blocks or multi view blocks. I have tried using attributes with fields, text with fields, normal blocks, multi view blocks and have experienced problems with them all one way or another.

    What is the correct procedure for doing this? Has anyone else had to overcome the same problem?

    Thanks,

    Graham.
    Last edited by gdaniels; 2005-04-08 at 10:41 AM.

  2. #2
    Time Lord Steve_Bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    far, far, far away...
    Posts
    4,730
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Attributes Within Multi View Blocks

    Quote Originally Posted by gdaniels
    I am trying to set up title blocks with fields linking through to project/sheet set data.

    I am having problems with the fields not updating when nested in blocks or multi view blocks. I have tried using attributes with fields, text with fields, normal blocks, multi view blocks and have experienced problems with them all one way or another.

    What is the correct procedure for doing this? Has anyone else had to overcome the same problem?
    I don't think that fields would update once they are located within blocks. Maybe Xrefs, but not the others. Or look at it this way: If it's a title block using fields, do you really need to nest the fields within a block? Or could you acheive the same result by using a table to anchor the fields down instead of a block?
    Steve Bennett |BIM Manager
    Taylor Design | Adventures in BIM

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2005-03
    Location
    Derby, UK
    Posts
    194
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Attributes Within Multi View Blocks

    I have been doing something similar up until now, thought it would have been nice to be able to switch between different styles of title blocks easily from the properties palette as you can with Multi-view blocks. The help files do suggest to me that the fields should still be updatable within in blocks.

    Thanks anyway,

    Graham.

Similar Threads

  1. Rename Blocks and Multi-View Blocks within AutoCAD
    By Wish List System in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-12-06, 08:53 AM
  2. Change defaults for adding blocks to Multi-View Blocks
    By Ed Jobe in forum ACA Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-07-25, 05:11 PM
  3. 2011: multi-view blocks help
    By basselomara83713920 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-02-18, 04:57 AM
  4. multi-view blocks
    By swit in forum ACA General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-01-27, 06:36 PM
  5. multi view blocks
    By dzatto in forum ACA General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-10-11, 10:05 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •