Results 1 to 1 of 1

Thread: TIP - managing multiple entities when working with vendor supplied AutoCAD data

  1. #1
    Member cadman_99's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-12
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default TIP - managing multiple entities when working with vendor supplied AutoCAD data

    Anyone who has gotten drawings files or DXF files from vendors online and tried to effectively use the supplied files can tell you just how much fun it can be. Of the 32,750 individual line segments and arcs that make up that PLC module you want to put in your panel layout, I will bet you will have missed some when you attempt to move or copy it in the past. Grouping the items may one way to work effectively with them, however there is another method that works as well and provides more flexibility. After opening the source file, determine what you would like to use as a reference point for the data. Select the Clipboard \ Copy with base point option from your right click menu. Pick the desired base point for the soon to be inserted data when prompted, and select the entities you would like to use. You now have on the clip board, data, with a viable insertion point (rather than bottom leftmost point, as general block insertion will use). To insert the data in your drawing, select Clipboard / Paste as block. When the entities are inserted, they will have both a practical insertion point and be in block form. This will assure that, if you need to manipulate the included data in some way, there are no stray bits left at random locations. To edit the data, use the Block editor feature (right click menu again). Do not explode the newly inserted block!
    Attached Images Attached Images

Similar Threads

  1. Tool Tip/Map Tip
    By cynthia.biacofsky in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-06-12, 04:59 PM
  2. Revit supplied sash window problem
    By ws in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-05-24, 06:52 AM
  3. Create circle from information supplied
    By noadea in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2007-01-16, 07:59 AM
  4. Existing Doors supplied by the factory?
    By DaveP in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 2005-07-27, 10:22 PM
  5. Warning from Vendor not to install (Whoops, to late)
    By MMccomb in forum AMEP General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-05-27, 05:07 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •