Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Entire drawing disappeared

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    23
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Entire drawing disappeared

    I was working on a drawing on my home computer and was entering a new command and the entire drawing disappeared from the screen. I tried everything and could not get the drawing back. I was able to pull up other drawings, but not the one I was working on. I am using windows XP. I have been using this program for 15 years and never had rhis happen. I am at a loss as to why. I need to get my drawing back. Please help.

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,236
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Entire drawing disappeared

    You haven't given us much to go on. What was the new command? Did you try undo? If there was objects very far away from each other a zoom extents may appear as a blank screen. Has the drawing size changed at all? It should have been fine as long as you didn't save it. Even if you did save the drawing it's bak file should be OK. Was the drawing saved on your PC or accessed remotely?
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2019 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    23
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Entire drawing disappeared

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    You haven't given us much to go on. What was the new command? Did you try undo? If there was objects very far away from each other a zoom extents may appear as a blank screen. Has the drawing size changed at all? It should have been fine as long as you didn't save it. Even if you did save the drawing it's bak file should be OK. Was the drawing saved on your PC or accessed remotely?
    1st I selected my file, GP7, 1017KB/open/Autocad alert (c:\documents and settings\compaq_administrator\my documents\locomotive drawings\gp7.dwg is currently in use by:compaq_administrator,your-4DACDOEA 75 Would you like to open the file read only (click yes) a message flashes on the screen and can't read it. Then a box appears stating "Autocad message" Audit detected no errors in recovered database/OK hatch boundary associativity removed. Tried "restore", but nothing but a blank screen. I don't recall what command I was using at the time. Everything happened so fast. I tried zoom, undo, etc. I found a BAK file, but when I opened it, it was still a blank screen.
    Last edited by Mr Ron; 2019-12-05 at 02:43 AM. Reason: Needed to add more info.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,753
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Entire drawing disappeared

    post the drawing we we can look at it. what version of Acad are you running on the XP machine?
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    23
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Entire drawing disappeared

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    post the drawing we we can look at it. what version of Acad are you running on the XP machine?
    Acad 2004. Can't post dwg as there is nothing to post; blank screen. What is the command that lists all the steps made during the drawing process? Maybe that can help me find where the error occured.

  6. #6
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,638
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Entire drawing disappeared

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Ron View Post
    Acad 2004. Can't post dwg as there is nothing to post; blank screen. What is the command that lists all the steps made during the drawing process? Maybe that can help me find where the error occured.
    You can still post the dwg file. Maybe you don't see the sense, but someone else might be able to recover it. You could try searching for the *.ac$ file in the %temp% folder and renaming the extension to dwg. Also, there is no command to display dwg history. The command window (F2) maintains the history only for the current session. Once you close the file, the history is lost.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2008-12
    Posts
    23
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Entire drawing disappeared

    Maybe I can recover my drawing by scanning a copy and loading it back into Acad. If so, how do I go about doing it?

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,236
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Entire drawing disappeared

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr Ron View Post
    Maybe I can recover my drawing by scanning a copy and loading it back into Acad. If so, how do I go about doing it?
    Do not attempt to open any more drawings under that folder!
    In over a quarter century of using AutoCAD I've never heard of a both a drawing and it's backup disappearing like this. Before you recreate the drawing you need to figure out what happened so it doesn't keep happening. What type of Antivirus software are you running? Norton had a bad reputation of working with AutoCAD though working on a file under that compaq_administrator folder that "gp7.dwg is currently in use by:compaq_administrator,your-4DACDOEA 75" error to pop-up might have been flagged by many brands of Antivirus software.

    If the drawing file size still indicates something is there copy it to C:\DWG or something and try opening that after disabling your Antivirus software. If that works and you still don't see anything post the drawing file!

    I'm not an IT guy but you've got something other than AutoCAD causing that issue.
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2019 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

Similar Threads

  1. Viewing the entire drawing path on the header
    By rhayes.99001 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2019-12-05, 10:32 PM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 2014-10-01, 04:02 PM
  3. 2013: Displaying entire drawing name on top of Autocad
    By sovby254640 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2013-08-14, 05:47 PM
  4. Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2011-02-26, 03:48 AM
  5. ADT '05 doesn't plot entire drawing
    By gregb in forum ACA General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-12-03, 03:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •