See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Spline Question

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    72
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Spline Question

    Hello. Here's a spline question that is puzzling me. Using the spline command, when finished, hit enter and the command is over. When I tried using it in a lisp I have to hit enter 3 times...once to end creating the spline and once on each end of the spline.

    Back story is a coworker likes to use the spline command for when we draw cables to get his layout. He then uses splinedit, then pedit so he can give it a thickness. So I made an attempt to create this for him to save him some steps. This works, but like I mentioned in the beginning, I'm asked to hit enter on each side of the spline. This happens to me even if my lisp only consisted of (command "spline").

    Code:
       (setq SC (getvar "DIMSCALE"))
       (setq CABTHK (/ 0.05 (/ 1 SC)))
       (command ".-LAYER" "m" "CABLES" "c" "82" "CABLES" "lt" "continuous" "CABLES" "")
       (command ".spline")
       (while (> (getvar 'cmdactive) 0) (command pause))
       (command ".splinedit" "L" "P" "")
       (command ".pedit" "L" "W" CABTHK "")
       (princ)
    )
    Any thoughts? Thanks,
    Paul

  2. #2
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2003-07
    Posts
    561
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Spline Question

    Try this

    Code:
    (command ".spline")
    (while (= (getvar 'cmdactive) 1) (command "pause"))
    (command "" "")

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    72
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Spline Question

    Quote Originally Posted by BIG-AL View Post
    Try this

    Code:
    (command ".spline")
    (while (= (getvar 'cmdactive) 1) (command "pause"))
    (command "" "")
    Thanks Big-Al,

    I tried that and I'm still being asked to "specify start tangent:" and "specify end tangent:".

    Paul

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,667
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: Spline Question

    Old link, but still relevant
    Command Versioning in AutoCAD: https://withoutanet.typepad.com/with...n-autocad.html
    or from AutoCAD Lisp Help: initcommandversion (AutoLISP) http://help.autodesk.com/view/ACD/20...6-F481BE68D46A

  5. #5
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    72
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Spline Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    Old link, but still relevant
    Command Versioning in AutoCAD: https://withoutanet.typepad.com/with...n-autocad.html
    or from AutoCAD Lisp Help: initcommandversion (AutoLISP) http://help.autodesk.com/view/ACD/20...6-F481BE68D46A
    Thanks Tom for the links. Wow...that explains why my fillet lisp routine always asked me for the "U" to do the multiple selections, but "M" for the command line version. That was a question that I always wanted to ask before, but didn't. Lol.

    I will update my lisp when I get back to work on Thursday. Even if that doesn't solve the spline issue it fixed my other one. Lol.

    Thanks for the info. I will keep you posted.

    Paul

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    72
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Spline Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    Old link, but still relevant
    Command Versioning in AutoCAD: https://withoutanet.typepad.com/with...n-autocad.html
    or from AutoCAD Lisp Help: initcommandversion (AutoLISP) http://help.autodesk.com/view/ACD/20...6-F481BE68D46A
    Thanks Tom. The "initcommandversion" did the trick. I was able to correct my fillet lisps I had also.

    Thanks for the info.

    Paul

  7. #7
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,667
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Spline Question

    Quote Originally Posted by pdstro View Post
    Thanks Tom. The "initcommandversion" did the trick. I was able to correct my fillet lisps I had also.
    Thanks for the info.
    Paul
    Glad you worked it out. Now that you're hooked we hope you enjoy lisping as much as we do!

  8. #8
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    72
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Spline Question

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    Glad you worked it out. Now that you're hooked we hope you enjoy lisping as much as we do!
    I do enjoy it. My only thing is that I was never really able to get all in. I can tweak what has been written a little or do new lisp that's very basic, but that's to the extent of my knowledge. This past year is when I decided to start updating our blocks and standards and try to improve our process which allowed me to do more coding. Wish I did this many years ago. I was only ever able to do a little here or there because I was swamped. If I really knew what I was doing, I would've rewritten some other code to redo what was originally done back in the 90's.

    Thanks again for the help.

Similar Threads

  1. Tough Question - Convert Spline to Polyline
    By johnshar123xx in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2008-10-20, 12:28 PM
  2. offsetting a spline
    By bbapties in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2007-08-10, 12:11 PM
  3. AutoCAD crashing when cursor comes within vicinity of spline
    By James.Head in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-06-17, 01:42 PM
  4. Spline Improvements
    By Scott Hopkins in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2004-06-16, 10:09 PM
  5. Spline offsets
    By beegee in forum Revit Architecture - Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2003-05-16, 06:00 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •