See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: upgrading to windows 10

  1. #1
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2014-08
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default upgrading to windows 10

    The company I work for is currently running AutoCAD 2009 on windows 7, we are upgrading to windows 10. I already know windows 10 will not support AutoCAD 2009. We are a roofing company and I use AutoCAD to do our shop drawings and submittal packages. This is a 2D application only, so my question is can we get the subscription for AutoCAD LT and have it be what I need or will we need to get the full version of AutoCAD. Any knowledge or advise would be helpful.

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,706
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: upgrading to windows 10

    Its not so much that Windows 10 will not support 2009 (You can always run in compatibility mode), but that Autodesk will not issue a registration key for software older than 2010. As to whether LT will work for you or not, only you can decide that. Basically, LT does not support lisp or 3D. See here for a comparison to AutoCAD. Also, you can download a 30-day trial to evaluate if it will work for your needs.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,785
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: upgrading to windows 10

    might also consider looking at a work-alike. BricsCAD or Graebert's Ares Commander, heck even Corel CAD will be at least as compatible as Acad 2009 tp the current versions of AutoCAD.

    Or, you can try suing autodesk for either a refund of your 2009 puchase price, or new auth codes. Since they arbitrarily broke the functionality and your ability to use your perpeptual license software.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  4. #4
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,534
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: upgrading to windows 10

    If you upgrade to Windows 10 Pro or Enterprise, you can enable Client Hyper-V and simply convert your existing Windows 7 physical machine into a virtual machine (VM) using DISKTOVHD, then host that VM from your new Windows 10 physical machine's local disk (where it will be faster), the network file server (where it can be backed up), etc and simply remote into that machine using RDP file.

    I do this for our surveyor, who also happens to be the Vice President of the firm, who insists on using AutoCAD 2000 + Eagle Point on Windows XP... No, I am not kidding.

    I converted his old workstation to VM, moved it to the server, added something to NETLOGON script to copy it local for him (so we get the CYA of network backups & local disk performance), and configured an RDP file so that when he double clicks, it logs him in with saved credentials... He simply double clicks to go back in time.

    We already owned the licensing for Windows XP, AutoCAD 2000 and Eagle Point... Now he doesn't have to upgrade until he's ready to do so.

    Cheers

    [Edit] - I also do this for our Engineers who are required to use ICPR v3 on Windows XP with USB redirect software for the USB hardware lock, so Engineers can remote in to run/edit drainage models nights and weekends without having to come into the office. Yes, ICPR installs on Windows 10 and even runs quite a bit faster but Windows 10 broke the ability to remote in and ICPR continue to run (it crashed the app for some reason back when we first tried it). The local County will not allow ICPR v4, which sucks, as that runs on the server & supports multi-threading but there's some sort of vertical bust when running the same drainage model in both versions, which is kind of a big deal when accounting for 100 year flood elevations being different. Haha

    [Edit] - Just be mindful to have enough CPU & RAM system resources available to your new Windows 10 workstation to support running both the native OS & hosting the VM and/or be mindful to upgrade your server backup implementation to account for this (these?) new Windows 7 VM(s). You may not even have to upgrade RAM, backup storage, etc, but even if you do, you're spending hundreds on yourself in lieu of tens of thousands to Autodesk (over time).
    Last edited by BlackBox; 2020-01-29 at 05:15 PM.
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3620, Core i7-7700K 4.2GHz, 64GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,785
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: upgrading to windows 10

    Interesting idea --I'd be expecting the old auth code to fail however, since the VM will not be the same hardware-wise as the old physical machine. (20 year old Acad ran a much simpler authorization system than 10 year old)

    it would be an worthwhile experiment....
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  6. #6
    Super Moderator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,748
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: upgrading to windows 10

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    (20 year old Acad ran a much simpler authorization system than 10 year old)

    ...and it was much easier to pirate.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by sdavis279678700 View Post
    ..... so my question is can we get the subscription for AutoCAD LT and have it be what I need or will we need to get the full version of AutoCAD.
    I have to agree with @cadtag - in your case, BricsCAD would do the job, for less $. BricsCAD Classic is US$845 for a perpetual license.

    But you do have a current investment in your AutoCAD 2009, so perhaps the suggestion from @BlackBox would work for you too.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

Similar Threads

  1. Upgrading to Windows 7
    By jimmy.long in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2012-02-10, 06:34 PM
  2. Upgrading to Windows 7 64 bit
    By jimmy.long in forum Inventor - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2011-04-28, 02:02 AM
  3. Upgrading to windows 7 64bit
    By speedfreak5150 in forum Revit - Hardware & Operating Systems
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-01-31, 04:51 PM
  4. Windows XP - Windows XP vs Windows 2000
    By Anthony.Bates in forum Operating Systems
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-04-05, 12:35 PM
  5. Doors as windows or windows as doors?
    By Nic M. in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2004-05-07, 06:44 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •