See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-11
    Posts
    15
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    We received a drawing from our client and it has a little red circle on 0,0. You cant select it. Turned off and froze all layers and its still there so it's not on a layer. It's in model space. If you x-ref the drawing into a sheet the circle does not come with it. It does not show if you try printing that area.

    If you orbit the drawing into a 3-D view it's actually an arrow pointing straight down at 0,0 in the Z-Axis. If you zoom in or out it always stays the same size. It appears to just be a visual mark that you cant do anything with.

    I attached a couple screen shots for reference.

    It doesn't seen to be causing an issue. Let me know if you have any idea what it is.

    Thanks!
    Rob Greenwald
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,505
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    possibly a civil drawing you received with "geomarkervisibilty = 1"?

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    Setting GEOMARKERVISIBILITY to 0 should fix it.
    If you add this code to your acaddoc.lsp file you will never see it again.
    Code:
    (if (/= (getvar 'geomarkervisibility) 0)(progn(setvar 'geomarkervisibility 0)(princ "\nGeomarkerVisibility turned off. GEOMARKERVISIBILITY")))

  4. #4
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,397
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    Or you could add it to SYSVARMONITOR.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  5. #5
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2017-11
    Location
    California
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    Definitely a Geolocation marker. It just means the drawing has a coordinate system associated to it. Usually used to underlay Bing Maps or a Mr Sids image below the site. If a Geolocation ribbon opens at the top of the screen, you can toggle realtime(ish) maps, or remove the location altogether. But the marker should not plot, or be visible in paperspace.

    I don't have Vanilla Autocad installed, or I'd test it, but setting mapstatusbar = show will add the geolocation info to the status bar at the bottom of the screen (Civil 3d). Likewise setting it to hide will make it go away. There you can see what coordinate system the drawing is set to.

  6. #6
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,803
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    Setting GEOMARKERVISIBILITY to 0 should fix it.
    If you add this code to your acaddoc.lsp file you will never see it again.
    Code:
    (if (/= (getvar 'geomarkervisibility) 0)(progn(setvar 'geomarkervisibility 0)(princ "\nGeomarkerVisibility turned off. GEOMARKERVISIBILITY")))
    Why not just (setvar "geomarkervisibility" 0) ?

    I realize both are virtually instantaneous, but if you were modifying 100 or 1000 sysvars, it would certainly be quicker to simply change the status to the desired state rather than checking for the existing state first?

    Thanks.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  7. #7
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2012-03
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    I read somewhere that the red circle is there in case you want to move the origin point.
    Sometimes i can grab it, sometimes i can not.
    Just don't look at it too long...

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,658
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Why not just (setvar "geomarkervisibility" 0) ?

    I realize both are virtually instantaneous, but if you were modifying 100 or 1000 sysvars, it would certainly be quicker to simply change the status to the desired state rather than checking for the existing state first?

    Thanks.
    Works either way. While it wouldn't be in one of my drawings I check the text window whenever I open a drawing from someone else to see notifications of what variables I've changed. If it's something that needs to be returned I've got a profile that doesn't run my ACADDOC.lsp file.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-09
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Strange red circle symbol at 0,0,0

    And you can set your template setvar to 0.

Similar Threads

  1. Solid Red Circle Appears
    By ethan.thompson342869 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2012-11-26, 11:19 PM
  2. Red Circle Chasing cursor
    By Mufasa23 in forum AutoCAD Action Recorder
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-07-10, 05:16 PM
  3. Distance from circle to circle
    By Brian.164262 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2008-04-24, 05:31 PM
  4. red death circle when drag to sheet file
    By utakecare2003 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2007-10-28, 09:28 PM
  5. Circle Polyline (ie Circle with Width)
    By johan d in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-02-03, 11:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •