Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15

Thread: Dynamic Block With Attributes and Text Using an IF

  1. #11
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    69
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block With Attributes and Text Using an IF

    Quote Originally Posted by MMccall View Post
    Here's another option using a block table to first make a selection for orientation and then branch out to selecting the order. I only built a portion of what the finished table would be. The contents of table could be built within the block editor or built in a spreadsheet and then pasted in.
    Thanks. I like this version a lot better. The list won't be as long like how I was thinking. There isn't as much selecting as there was with the previous block and no typing either. I am definitely going to have to start looking at these other features of the dynamic block. Seems to be a lot that can be done with them.

    Thanks again MMccall and Ed for your help. Truly appreciated.

    Paul

  2. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    2011-10
    Location
    Norfolk England
    Posts
    31
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block With Attributes and Text Using an IF

    Hi

    Just my humble opion, the block seems to be hellish crowded with graphics would a flip and a rotate action be more ecomomical to give left and right and horizontal
    Less visibility states ! also put the Visibility param at the top of the symbol, it then remains in the same place when using the stretch action.

    Just a thought

    Geoff

  3. #13
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    69
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block With Attributes and Text Using an IF

    Quote Originally Posted by Calteq View Post
    Hi

    Just my humble opion, the block seems to be hellish crowded with graphics would a flip and a rotate action be more ecomomical to give left and right and horizontal
    Less visibility states ! also put the Visibility param at the top of the symbol, it then remains in the same place when using the stretch action.

    Just a thought

    Geoff
    Hello,

    I considered a flip action before, but from what I know about dynamic blocks, the attributes would have to move. I created a block before that had a flip action and moving attributes messed up other blocks. Maybe I did it wrong, I don't know. I'm still learning how to make these. As far as rotating the block, the text still has to be in the zero orientation so is that possible?

    Thanks,

    Paul

  4. #14
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,462
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block With Attributes and Text Using an IF

    I'm going be memory as it has been a while since I have worked on new dynamic blocks with attributes.

    To keep the orientation at your desired angle, you would create a point parameter with an associated move action. Your rotation parameter, would rotate the point parameter, which would change the position of your point parameter and the associated move action. In your point parameter/move action set, you would set the move action to select the attribute or text you wanted to move. If an attribute is selected, I think the position property needs to be set to lock.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #15
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    69
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Dynamic Block With Attributes and Text Using an IF

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie View Post
    I'm going be memory as it has been a while since I have worked on new dynamic blocks with attributes.

    To keep the orientation at your desired angle, you would create a point parameter with an associated move action. Your rotation parameter, would rotate the point parameter, which would change the position of your point parameter and the associated move action. In your point parameter/move action set, you would set the move action to select the attribute or text you wanted to move. If an attribute is selected, I think the position property needs to be set to lock.
    Thanks. Unfortunately since I got the block created I haven't had much time to work on it anymore. I am getting to a point that hopefully I can do this soon. I will give this and Geoff's suggestion a try. The previous suggestions work now, but I'm sure there may be better ways for improvement. The nice thing is I have others to make that will be similar to what I was trying to make with this.

    Thanks again for all of the suggestions.

    Paul

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2014-06-16, 07:54 PM
  2. Block with field attributes within a dynamic block conundrum
    By flash5238 in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-05-13, 07:51 PM
  3. link dynamic block parameters with block attributes
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-06-12, 06:38 PM
  4. Replies: 21
    Last Post: 2007-03-20, 02:03 PM
  5. Extract Dynamic Block Attributes, values change as Block changes
    By dave.buckberry in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2006-09-05, 04:38 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •