See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

View Poll Results: Is your team prepared to work remotely?

Voters
28. You may not vote on this poll
  • 100% of staff

    8 28.57%
  • 75% of staff

    10 35.71%
  • 50% of staff

    2 7.14%
  • 25% of staff

    2 7.14%
  • 0% of staff

    5 17.86%
  • We cannot do our work remotely

    1 3.57%
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,322
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    I work fully remote, some of my team works partially remote and/or travels a lot. But, some of my team have never worked remotely before and have had some learning curve and some work on IT's part to get them prepared for it.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,236
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    I picked 100% because technically we're all gearing up to do that for the very possible chance we will be doing that.

    But... we use dropbox for our copies/link to our server, so we can work in AutoCAD locally and sync to our server, but not so much in Revit with Central and Local files.
    We don't use Revit Server or a cloud. And using SSM can be an issue with many people on it creating conflicted copies.

    So yes 100% WFH, but limited on what we can work on.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  3. #3
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,322
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    I picked 100% because technically we're all gearing up to do that for the very possible chance we will be doing that.

    But... we use dropbox for our copies/link to our server, so we can work in AutoCAD locally and sync to our server, but not so much in Revit with Central and Local files.
    We don't use Revit Server or a cloud. And using SSM can be an issue with many people on it creating conflicted copies.

    So yes 100% WFH, but limited on what we can work on.
    We use Google Drive for our server. ... no dwl so we have to keep a central list of all of the files each of us are working on. lol. (except the Google Docs, of course, those support multiple users editing in them at once.)

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by a_meteni View Post
    Lucky you. Sadly not yet for my team
    My boss hired me as the first employee on the team NOT in California, so I could help cover (he said at the time) the work from the EMEA region... well, now instead he'll have me work on the APAC region. Either way, I still get started 2-4 hours sooner than the West Coast team.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by CAtDiva View Post
    There's a couple of us that have thought about it. And I know enough about remote desktop to request our IT company set it up for me. On the other hand, if I don't have direct project work, I could work off a copy of our resource files (which I uploaded to DB last night) and work independently of the server for a short while. Then I'd just have to remember what has to be copied back when I return to the office. Beyond that, nothing is actually "in place" at this time.
    Ah. Good that you're competent and that's possible.

    That's how I worked remotely from when I was at the Hospital, because IT security policy was so locked down to comply with HIPAA, etc that hardly anyone was allowed to work remotely. It was quite tedious at times, but, when you've got a sick kid and deadlines, you do what you have to.
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  4. #4
    100 Club a_meteni's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-12
    Location
    Cairo
    Posts
    160
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    Apparently, the WFH issue might be widely adopted to avoid large groups at workplace these days.
    Last edited by a_meteni; 2020-03-14 at 02:13 PM.
    Best Regards
    Ali

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,236
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    An update to my original post, we now are using Autodesk BIM 360 and are working on several Revit projects on the cloud.
    Definitely a new experience for us, we're used to local models/central models on our server.
    Ted
    ____________________________________________________________________ ________________
    Windows 10
    AutoCAD 2018 - REVIT 2019 - Inventor Professional 2017 (when I can)

  6. #6
    100 Club a_meteni's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-12
    Location
    Cairo
    Posts
    160
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    Lucky you. Sadly not yet for my team
    Best Regards
    Ali

  7. #7
    Super Moderator CAtDiva's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Where pedals spin to move wheels
    Posts
    323
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    There's a couple of us that have thought about it. And I know enough about remote desktop to request our IT company set it up for me. On the other hand, if I don't have direct project work, I could work off a copy of our resource files (which I uploaded to DB last night) and work independently of the server for a short while. Then I'd just have to remember what has to be copied back when I return to the office. Beyond that, nothing is actually "in place" at this time.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator CAtDiva's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Location
    Where pedals spin to move wheels
    Posts
    323
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    Quote Originally Posted by CAtDiva View Post
    There's a couple of us that have thought about it. And I know enough about remote desktop to request our IT company set it up for me. On the other hand, if I don't have direct project work, I could work off a copy of our resource files (which I uploaded to DB last night) and work independently of the server for a short while. Then I'd just have to remember what has to be copied back when I return to the office. Beyond that, nothing is actually "in place" at this time.
    And by the end of tomorrow we'll be 80% capable of working remotely. I get to set up tomorrow morning.

  9. #9
    Member robin.capper's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-06
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    46
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    Our infrastructure was ready but only now being used for real. Tomorrow is a test remote day for as many as can in prep for the reality when it arrives
    Regards,
    Robin Capper.
    RobiNZ CAD Blog
    http://rcd.typepad.com/rcd/

  10. #10
    Member tskelton's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-08
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    9
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Poll: Is your team set up for remote work?

    I have been working remotely every Friday for the past 5 years using VPN, Teams and SharePoint currently. At my location about 75-80% of about 125 people work remotely a few days a week and some we will not see for over a week depending on there schedules. Our culture has allowed us to work from home. Last Friday our CEO asked the employees who do not need to be in office to work from home for the next 2 weeks which includes our worldwide offices. And that is what I will be doing.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Remote access from work to home
    By madcadder in forum Networks
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2013-01-30, 09:04 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2012-05-23, 03:50 PM
  3. Remote Model Server for A/E Work-sharing
    By cmayer in forum Revit - Worksharing/Worksets/Revit Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-09-15, 07:58 PM
  4. View your work with the lights on without having to render your work?
    By frostxandxash137414 in forum VIZ - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-04-13, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •