See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Deploying custom menus

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-11
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Deploying custom menus

    Within this new world of mobility and working from home more, I still have to do updates to our custom menu and issue them out to everyone working from their own laptops or pcs at home. People are not tied to the server. Our menu was deployed where i could make menu updates and everyone would get the latest update when the restarted Autocad. Now, I have 20% who are not tied to a server and dont get the latest updates without me sending them a zip file of the updates and telling them where to put them on their computer. Is there a better solution to this? Is there a software you know of that will grab the latest updated menu folders and files, place them in a "zip" folder, and then deploy/extract them on the user's menu folder system?

    With the new Autodesk subscription service changing to a stand-alone model where the user can place it on 3 machines, it doesnt make sense to have a server end menu location. Sure, it is more difficult to keep it up to date, but that where I would like to find software that makes that easier.

  2. #2
    Mod / Salary / SM Wanderer's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    St. Louis
    Posts
    5,335
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying custom menus

    Quote Originally Posted by mschirmer View Post
    Within this new world of mobility and working from home more, I still have to do updates to our custom menu and issue them out to everyone working from their own laptops or pcs at home. People are not tied to the server. Our menu was deployed where i could make menu updates and everyone would get the latest update when the restarted Autocad. Now, I have 20% who are not tied to a server and dont get the latest updates without me sending them a zip file of the updates and telling them where to put them on their computer. Is there a better solution to this? Is there a software you know of that will grab the latest updated menu folders and files, place them in a "zip" folder, and then deploy/extract them on the user's menu folder system?

    With the new Autodesk subscription service changing to a stand-alone model where the user can place it on 3 machines, it doesnt make sense to have a server end menu location. Sure, it is more difficult to keep it up to date, but that where I would like to find software that makes that easier.
    I haven't tried it myself, but, I'm wondering if Autocad's Google Drive integration would help with that?
    It does say block libraries on your tool palettes can sync to cloud storage... not sure of anything else, support-wise.
    https://blogs.autodesk.com/autocad/autocad-2021/
    Melanie Stone
    @MistresDorkness

    ARCHIBUS, FMS/FMInteract and AutoCAD Expert (I use Revit and Tririga, too)
    Technical Editor
    not all those who wander are lost

  3. #3
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2005-09
    Posts
    183
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Deploying custom menus

    Just wondering if you found a solution for this? I have a custom tab on the ribbon and control it with a CUI (on the server). So I would think that if your menu is in a custom CUI, seems like it could easily updated and possibly broadcast to the user via a script or something that IT could possibly set up. Just a thought as I contemplate a similar need for updating customization files.

  4. #4
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-10
    Location
    Scotland
    Posts
    97
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Deploying custom menus

    We've had to change our working practices, as our connection from home is too slow when accessing the office server.
    All our customisation was based on the network server, but are now copied to the laptops. The configuration had to be changed on each copy of AutoCAD (LT), to point to the new locations.
    I've kept our block libraries on the server.
    I update the customisation and every now and again ask users to update their setup by use of a batch file running robocopy to mirror the server copy to the laptop -
    robocopy "Somewhere on the server" "%public%\Somewhere on the C drive" /njs /MIR /MT:8 /R:5 /W:10
    The script is based upon an article I read from the AUGI magazine I read many moons ago.

Similar Threads

  1. Shortcut Menus (pop menus) in partial cuix don't work
    By Big Daddy Wags in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2020-09-01, 02:30 PM
  2. Menus referencing wrong menus
    By jeff.alberda in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2010-08-11, 05:17 PM
  3. Customized CUI menus does not change menus.
    By lhill.182346 in forum AutoCAD CUI Menus
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2008-07-18, 08:58 PM
  4. Deploying DWF Composer
    By DarrenYoung in forum Design Review - General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2005-02-17, 06:25 AM
  5. Deploying a revised .CTB file
    By davidmatyas in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-02-11, 06:15 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •