Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

  1. #1
    100 Club JeffClark's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    144
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    The "Background Mask" option of the multileaders seemed great, until I plotted them.
    They look good on the screen, but when I plot them, they do not wipeout.
    Even in plot preview, they do not do what a "text mask" or a wipeout does.

    Anyone know why?
    Thanks,
    Jeff

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,842
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    I've never seen that issue here, I would verify draworder, and check that the plotter settings include pens over write instead of pens merge.
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    100 Club JeffClark's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    144
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    Thanks cadtag. I have checked all that.
    Weird thing is, regular wipeouts, and text masks on regular mtext plot just fine.
    It's just the "background mask" function in the multileaders that are not working. It looks good on the screen, but when you plot, no effect.

    Model Space (wipeout frames ON):
    Capture1.JPG

    Plot Preview:
    Capture2.JPG
    Attached Images Attached Images

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,842
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    just to try something out, explode one of those mleaders, you should end up with a chunk of Mtext, and lines for the leader. Does that Mtext plot properly with the maxk working as desired??
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2001-10
    Location
    Defragging the internets.
    Posts
    339
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    If the mleader is in paperspace and the plot is set to NOT plot paperspace last, the background mask will not work.
    posting is possible

  6. #6
    100 Club JeffClark's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    144
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    Quote Originally Posted by framedNlv View Post
    If the mleader is in paperspace and the plot is set to NOT plot paperspace last, the background mask will not work.
    Thanks for the reply.
    "Plot Paper Space Last" is ON.
    The multileaders are always in Model Space.
    I don't do the annotation in paper space thing...

  7. #7
    100 Club JeffClark's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    144
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    just to try something out, explode one of those mleaders, you should end up with a chunk of Mtext, and lines for the leader. Does that Mtext plot properly with the maxk working as desired??
    Hmmmmm....
    I exploded one. Resulting MText with "background mask on" does not 'wipeout' in plot preview.
    That prompted me to do a test.
    I created a new piece of MText. Turned background mask on. Looked good.
    Did a plot preview. No Wipeout.
    Turned the background mask off and did a Text Mask from the express tools on it, works just fine.

    Seems the background mask things are not working properly anywhere, not just in the multileaders.
    Last edited by JeffClark; 2020-09-10 at 02:53 PM.

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,842
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    starting to sound like something in your installation is corrupt. Either try a Repair, or a re-installation,

    What version of Acad are you running?
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  9. #9
    100 Club JeffClark's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    144
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    Quote Originally Posted by cadtag View Post
    starting to sound like something in your installation is corrupt. Either try a Repair, or a re-installation,

    What version of Acad are you running?
    Well.....this is Acad 2009 with Land Desktop. I know.... all new jobs are being done in C3D, but for now, I've still got a lot of work in LDT.
    As customized as my AutoCAD is, reinstalling is a horrible idea.


    Meanwhile,
    I've continued to try and diagnose and have made a discovery!
    When printing to our Ricoh MP7503 (copier/printer) they work!
    When printing to the big guy (OCE PlotWave 500), they do not work.

    So I have sicked our IT manager on it. She is comparing the PC3 files to see if she can spot the difference.

  10. #10
    100 Club JeffClark's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-07
    Location
    South Jersey
    Posts
    144
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Multileader Background Mask ignored when plotting

    We figured it out.
    The PC3 that does not plot the text wiped out has Merge Line on.
    The PC3 that does plot the text wiped out has Overwrite Line on.

    Geeze!!
    We have a special driver for the OCE for renderings that I can use when I need it. Got to be extra careful about draw order though. Merge allows us to not worry about draw order.
    Background Masks, what a pain!

    Thanks for helping fellas.

Similar Threads

  1. Multileader Background mask
    By Wish List System in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-11-13, 03:00 PM
  2. multileader background fill
    By parkerfeldman in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2009-03-23, 02:30 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2007-01-15, 06:12 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-05-23, 09:40 PM
  5. Background Mask Plotting
    By MikeM4OSU in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2006-02-28, 07:40 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •