See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Open DWG with current Civil 3D through Windows instead of outdated version

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    707
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Open DWG with current Civil 3D through Windows instead of outdated version

    Double clicked from window a Civ3D dwg that had been saved with 2021 but the file tried opened with 2018. Is there a way to get newest version to be default when double clicking a dwg in windows?

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,823
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Open DWG with current Civil 3D through Windows instead of outdated version

    uninstall all the others??

    or hardwire the .dwg filetype with the full path to 2021 (plus whatever arguments you need)
    Real pirates wear silk suits & ties, and write EULAs
    The only thing more dangerous to the liberty of a free people than big government, is big business.

    Toward a Sustainable Water Future: Visions for 2050 http://ascelibrary.org/doi/book/10.1061/9780784412077

  3. #3
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,772
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Open DWG with current Civil 3D through Windows instead of outdated version

    I know this is not what you want to hear, but open Civil 3D 2021 first, then drag+drop the DWG file onto the Command Line or the Title Bar.
    That is the only 100% guaranteed method.

    You can try the methods outlined online in various places, but none of them (in my experience) work as intended, all the time.

    I have a test PC with dozens of different versions of AutoCAD, AutoCAD Map, AutoCAD LT, Civil 3D, etc. and I would never rely on the O/S to pick the right version for me.

    Cheers
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL
    Posts
    3,366
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Open DWG with current Civil 3D through Windows instead of outdated version

    By default AutoCAD Drawing Launcher is used when double-clicking a dwg file in File Explorer which should open it in the last AutoCAD dwg software application that was opened. It has nothing to do with what version it was saved in.
    DWG file type associativity in Windows https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...n-Windows.html

    Autodesk recommends always opening DWGs from within the program but dragging a DWG file from Windows Explorer onto the correct AutoCAD program icon will work as well: https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...D-Product.html
    Tom Beauford P.S.M. - Civil 2020 on Windows 10 Enterprise
    Design Analysis - Leon County Public Works/Engineering Wrap [CODE] tags around selected text
    2280 Miccosukee Rd. Tallahassee, FL 32308-5310
    Ph# (850)606-1516 Home Page

  5. #5
    Civil Engineering Moderator MHultgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,431
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Open DWG with current Civil 3D through Windows instead of outdated version

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    ... dragging a DWG file from Windows Explorer onto the correct AutoCAD program icon will work as well: https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...D-Product.html
    If you have the 2021 Icon pinned to your taskbar in Windows, then drag from File Mangler onto the icon, that will open the dwg in 2021. Just make sure the icon you have pinned has the correct profile switch set before ;pinning it if you use multiple profiles.
    Mark Hultgren
    Just a Lurker
    http://www.MKW-Ind.com
    Blog
    Socializing??

Similar Threads

  1. Outdated subscription
    By jpearson in forum CAD Management - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2018-10-08, 11:37 AM
  2. AutoCAD 2007 DWG version to 2000 DWG version - File size increases
    By darin.marsden in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-05-17, 07:29 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2006-01-15, 08:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •