Thread: Set Workset by Category

Default Set Workset by Category

I'm surprised there aren't more Dynamo threads.... I thought this would be bigger than LISP.

First, I'm a foodservice consultant, not an architect. Most of my Revit wrangling is getting it to do things that it wasn't primarily designed for. I want to use Dynamo much in the same way that I used LISP, write a small routine to automate repetitive tasks with the prime intent of eliminating error.

Much like layers, I find many of our objects on the wrong workset. I find the fastest way is to switch to the home 3D view, select everything, save that selection, and switch back to a much less intensive view. Then, I reload that selection set, use the filter to select categories of objects, change their workset, and repeat. I also saw an out-of-date Dynamo package that even created a set of worksets based on a list. This only needs to be done once a project, so i'm less concerned with that automation.

Does anyone know what command, or how to write one, that can filter a selection set based on category then assign a workset?

Thanks in advance for any advice
    stu

Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar

Default Re: Set Workset by Category

Most Dynamo people I know just go to the source...the forums at Dynamo.org. You'd have to borrow all the elements to act (Dynamo) on them otherwise it will fail on elements you can't borrow. Also you won't be able to change the workset on sub-elements (children) like mullions, curtain grids, balusters and so on. Those are defined by their parent. So you have to filter out those before you'll be able to alter the workset parameter.

Fwiw, given your discipline, you could probably manage just fine with one workset for model elements. Worksets exist to allow concurrent multi-user access.