See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Posts
    45
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Is there a way to create/add a dialogue box similar to the default template drop down selection (or modify the default) to display a list customized templates to choose?
    Attached Images Attached Images

  2. #2
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,802
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    That list is showing you the templates in the path you have chosen/set in Options.

    Options > Files > Template Settings > Drawing Template File Location.

    Change this, restart AutoCAD.
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  3. #3
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,921
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Or you can copy your templates to AutoCAD's template folder. I prefix mine with an underscore so that they appear at the top.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  4. #4
    Administrator rkmcswain's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Earth
    Posts
    9,802
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    Or you can copy your templates to AutoCAD's template folder.
    Technically that will work, but I prefer and always advise keeping your own custom files separate from Autodesk's files.
    Then when you install a new version or move to a new PC, all of your custom files are in one place, and you simply have to re-map the pointers inside of AutoCAD (which can be automated).
    R.K. McSwain | CAD Panacea |

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-12
    Posts
    45
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    That list is showing you the templates in the path you have chosen/set in Options.

    Options > Files > Template Settings > Drawing Template File Location.

    Change this, restart AutoCAD.

    Thanks for the feedback. That is what i was trying to achieve.

  6. #6
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,551
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Quote Originally Posted by gcameron View Post
    Is there a way to create/add a dialogue box similar to the default template drop down selection (or modify the default) to display a list customized templates to choose?
    I added a drop-down list of customized templates to a custom panel in the Ribbon for them with macros like
    Code:
    ^C^C^P(vla-activate (vla-Add (vla-get-Documents (vlax-get-acad-object)) (strcat (getvar "localrootprefix") "template" (chr 92) "AutoCAD Template" (chr 92) "FL83-NF.dwt")))
    to create new drawings from custom templates for different workflows. I use (chr 92) for "\\" as it works in macros the same as if the code was pasted to the command line making it easy to test before adding to a macro.
    Last edited by Tom Beauford; 2021-01-28 at 12:11 PM.

  7. #7
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,921
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Technically that will work, but I prefer and always advise keeping your own custom files separate from Autodesk's files.
    Then when you install a new version or move to a new PC, all of your custom files are in one place, and you simply have to re-map the pointers inside of AutoCAD (which can be automated).
    Yeah, I suppose that is good advice for users who need their own custom templates. I supply our users with standards templates and I have a system for keeping them updated, so I just copy them to the template folder.

    An old trick for including custom templates in the default template folder is to put a shortcut in that folder which points to the custom folder. AutoCAD treats it like a subfolder. That way you can use stock templates and have quick access to custom templates.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Highlands ranch, CO
    Posts
    29
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    I added a drop-down list of customized templates to a custom panel in the Ribbon for them with macros like
    Code:
    ^C^C^P(vla-activate (vla-Add (vla-get-Documents (vlax-get-acad-object)) (strcat (getvar "localrootprefix") "template" (chr 92) "AutoCAD Template" (chr 92) "FL83-NF.dwt")))
    to create new drawings from custom templates for different workflows. I use (chr 92) for "" as it works in macros the same as if the code was pasted to the command line making it easy to test before adding to a macro.
    This is a great tip Tom (chr 92).
    Got any other Macro tips to share?

    ~Greg

  9. #9
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,650
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Quote Originally Posted by rkmcswain View Post
    Technically that will work, but I prefer and always advise keeping your own custom files separate from Autodesk's files.
    Then when you install a new version or move to a new PC, all of your custom files are in one place, and you simply have to re-map the pointers inside of AutoCAD (which can be automated).
    I agree and do this for everything I can as well.

    Do you happen to know if "Map - North Arrows.dwg" and "Map - Scale Bars.dwg" are no longer hard-coded into Civil 3D?

    Code:
    C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 202X\Map\Sample\Symbols
    We've always had to overwrite those with our own (make a .bak of original) to get them to show up in Layout Tools ribbon tab, no?
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3630, Core i9-9900K 5.0GHz, 128GB RAM, Samsung 970 Pro M.2, 8GB NVIDIA Quadro P4000

  10. #10
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,551
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Display a list of customized templates to choose from

    Quote Originally Posted by greg.battin View Post
    This is a great tip Tom (chr 92).
    Got any other Macro tips to share?

    ~Greg
    About Special Control Characters in Command Macros is a good reference for creating Macros. I've added way too many to custom Ribbon panels, tabs, and Shortcut Menus to list. I prefer to use Shortcut Menus for modifying objects since they're accessible with a right-click instead of looking for an icon to pick. To Customize a Shortcut Menu explains OBJECT_objectname or OBJECTS_objectname but refer to Shortcut Menu Aliases for blocks and external references (xrefs).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2014-11-30, 01:16 PM
  2. 2014: Setting Up Project Templates & View Templates???
    By sbrennan in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2013-08-29, 09:17 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2011-12-09, 02:57 PM
  4. View Filters and view Templates... But not View Templates
    By saeborne in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2010-09-13, 04:40 PM
  5. Revit architecture view templates or Revit Structure view templates
    By rob.127056 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-02-13, 07:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •