See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Thread: hide categories in all links but not host

Login to Give a bone

Default hide categories in all links but not host

I'm a consultant, so I'm Copy/Monitoring the Grids from a Linked model so I can control their visibility better. Same with Room Tags. I have 6 Linked models and they are all doing the same thing.

Is there a fast way of hiding the Grids in all of the Linked Models, but not in my Host model? I have at least 4 View Templates that will need this. Do I really need to go into each of the 6 Links, change Annotation Categories to Custom, uncheck Grids, and repeat for all 6 links in each of my 4+ View Templates?

I'm in 2020 atm, and a little surprised I haven't come across this before, but I'm sure it won't be the last time.

Thank you very much,
    Stu

Login to Give a bone

Default Re: hide categories in all links but not host

Be Happy you only have 6 links to deal with. Typically I've seen this accomplished by making sure all consultants are checking what's on the individual worksets and making sure that only Grids and Levels are on the shared Grids and levels workset. Then you can simply close that workset in the Links manager and you'll never see it.
    Only downfall is if they put something else on that workset that you need to coordinate with. If you need to review the grids (say once ever other week), just open the worksets again via the link manager and go that route.
    Option B for new projects is to start a project, enable workset, add like 10 false links (Links to files with nothing in them) and set up your templates. Then when you start a new project, do a save as a new central and point to the correct links (reload from). This keeps the VG for the Templates and allows you to set it up once.
    Option B - there's a dynamo method that's more of a hack as it won't really adjust the template it adjusts the VG and you can't change it back without removing and reapplying the template.