See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

  1. #1
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,988
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    I've gotten a drawing from a surveyor, basically point shots and 2d polylines, I need to create a surface, and need the plines as feature lines,

    The plines are all at Z=0, and so are the point nodes. Point properties gives me Easting Northing & Point Elevation of 49.505. ID the node of the points, or trying to create a feature line from the Node, has a Z value of 0.

    Is here a quick way/batch method to move the 2500 Top of Bank points to the Point Elevation?

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,800
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    Are these Civil 3D COGO points or 3rd party? If 3rd party, would data extraction help get the point data to a csv for re-import as COGO points? If they are COGO points, the surface should use the specified point elevation.

    For the polylines, can you use the proximity type for breaklines to work as intended?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,988
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    I don't believe the ToB, ToS or ditch centers were actually used in the surface -- If there's not a sane way to move the node Z value to the Point Elevation value, I guess I'll have to export those points to a text file, import into a new drawing using the Z value, and create feature lies there and then copy those into my surface drawing

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,800
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    Do the triangles of the surface show that?

    Are those points included in a specific point group? If so, you could add that point group to the surface.

    Does the surface not allow points below or above certain elevations?
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,988
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    I followed your thinking, created point groups for the points I want to connect with feature lines, added the groups to the surface, and then connected the points with feature lines, using ENDP for the Tin triangles works

    I'm guessing that however the surveyor imported his points put them at z-0. If I create points they are at the elevation, but I'm not involved with creating survey drawings. Just kinda POd that that they took the time to draw 2d plines to connect the points when 3dpolys or feature lines are a thing

  6. #6
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,800
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    Proximity breaklines should work without being at the elevation of the points.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    For Cogo Points. On the settings Tab of the Toolspace select the Point Style for the points. Right click on the Point Style and go to the 3D Geometry tab. Change the Point Display Mode to Use Point Elevatioin.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    2014-05
    Posts
    14
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    Are the points block objects? Usually, Carllson software creates block objects rather than points. You can use the set elevation by attribute function in Civil 3d before you explode the blocks to point objects.

  9. #9
    Certifiable AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    4,988
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    Thanks Allen -- exactly what I needed

  10. #10
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    930
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: move point objects node from 0 to Point Elevation

    Where do you find the "set elevation by attribute" command?

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Point Label Style - Dragged State - Point to Node
    By sebastien795355 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2013-11-04, 04:10 PM
  2. Osnap will not snap to node.
    By GreyHippo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2006-02-09, 01:36 AM
  3. Dimensions should not show a node at 0,0
    By autocad.wishlist1734 in forum AutoCAD Wish List
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2005-11-08, 01:23 PM
  4. NODE osnap for text entities
    By LanceMcHatton in forum AutoCAD Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2005-10-28, 10:27 PM
  5. How to turn off mtext node snapping?
    By GreyHippo in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-09-11, 12:27 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •