Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Field for insertion point of "Bingo" detail numbering

  1. #1
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Location
    Taxachusetts
    Posts
    68
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Field for insertion point of "Bingo" detail numbering

    Most of our clients have moved into using what we have been calling "bingo" numbering for titles. This is where a detail (or section or plan title (not the sheet titleblock)) has a bubble with an alphanumeric which is dictated by the detail's location on the sheet. I can make a block that will use a field to show the blocks X,Y location, but I am trying to figure out how to make ACAD recognize that location as the grid defined by the client's border. Some sort of if/then based on the range of X,Y values that swaps out the numerical value for an alphanumeric?

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,969
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Field for insertion point of "Bingo" detail numbering

    AutoCAD Electrical does this. You didn't say what type of product you are detailing, but maybe you can use acade's tools.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2008-01
    Location
    Taxachusetts
    Posts
    68
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Field for insertion point of "Bingo" detail numbering

    Oops, I guess that is needed. My office uses Civil 3D, all recent versions.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,396
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Field for insertion point of "Bingo" detail numbering

    Quote Originally Posted by scott.jeffers View Post
    Most of our clients have moved into using what we have been calling "bingo" numbering for titles. This is where a detail (or section or plan title (not the sheet titleblock)) has a bubble with an alphanumeric which is dictated by the detail's location on the sheet.
    You're referring to what is called the "drawing area coordinate system" in the NCS Uniform Drawing System. Many of our clients use this method including most government agencies such an USCG, Navfac, ACOE etc.

    I don't have an answer for your question on a field to read that on a title block, sorry.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #5
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,969
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Field for insertion point of "Bingo" detail numbering

    I can't think of anything other than a custom coded command to place the detail block and edit an attribute. A field can't have such custom logic using anything other than diesel. I haven't messed with diesel in years and I'm not sure if it can handle the task.
    C:> ED WORKING....

Similar Threads

  1. 2017: Spot Elevation/ Level with both "project base point" and "survey point"
    By jledgewood in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2017-11-27, 10:55 PM
  2. CV104-1P: One Point, Two Point, Red Point, Blue Point
    By Autodesk University in forum Civil Infrastructure
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-05-05, 03:17 AM
  3. CV12-4: One Point, Two Point, Red Point, Blue Point
    By Autodesk University in forum Civil Infrastructure
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2013-04-17, 04:50 AM
  4. "Point de base du projet" et "Point de relevé"
    By fabrice.bon in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2010-03-30, 10:53 AM
  5. Placing insertion point at mid-point of flange on a steel section
    By Spenner in forum Dynamic Blocks - Technical
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-06-18, 01:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •