See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: UCS question

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2022-06
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default UCS question

    Hello. I'm new to the forum, but not new to AutoCAD. I've been using the software since R11 in, I think, 1982 or so.
    I'm having a problem with the UCS. If I change views just once to Top, then try to draw a rectangle, the rectangle is made in the XZ plane, not the XY plane. I have to change views through a cycle of views (top then iso left then bottom then iso right then back then iso rear, etc.) to get the UCS to recognize the view I'm in.
    This isn't just with drawing a rectangle, it also affects inquireing length or moving parts that have been unioned, etc. I've been searching the net and digging through my several ACAD books, but haven't found a reference yet.
    Any help would be appreciated.
    Bert

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,966
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: UCS question

    Dumb question, but are you sure that WCS is current? Is this problem in all dwgs or just one? Can you share the dwg? Did the Top view get changed to be associated with another UCS other than WCS?
    2022-06-30_08-04-12.png
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2022-06
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS question

    First, why is it a dumb question?
    Second, it happens in _any_ drawing, not just one.
    Third, I just upgraded to 2022, so I think this question is now moot.

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,794
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS question

    I do not believe Ed was stating your post contained a dumb question.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,393
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS question

    Quote Originally Posted by Opie View Post
    I do not believe Ed was stating your post contained a dumb question.
    Agreed, I read that as
    "(I have a) dumb question..."
    meaning he knew it was a "given" but asked anyway just in case.

  6. #6
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    5,966
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: UCS question

    Quote Originally Posted by tedg View Post
    Agreed, I read that as
    "(I have a) dumb question..."
    meaning he knew it was a "given" but asked anyway just in case.
    Correct, I was stating that my question was dumb, i.e. probably something that you already had checked into.
    C:> ED WORKING....

Similar Threads

  1. Convert Existing UCS to new UCS
    By Wish List System in forum Civil 3D Wish List
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2011-11-23, 06:15 AM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2009-07-22, 08:55 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2008-10-07, 06:01 PM
  4. Copy Solid from one UCS to another UCS
    By roger_wall in forum VBA/COM Interop
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2007-02-01, 12:23 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-07-08, 03:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •