See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: extract data from shapefile

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    939
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default extract data from shapefile

    Is it possible to extract data from the data table and create cogo points with that data as the full description?
    Or is there a simple or more effective way of achieving this?
    Last edited by rmk; 2022-08-16 at 03:24 PM.

  2. #2
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,851
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: extract data from shapefile

    Are COGO points necessary? You could bring shapefile data in as blocks with the associated data table for each point. Depending on the amount of data, you may run out of room to import all of the data into the full description property of a COGO point.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2004-06
    Location
    Slidell, Louisiana
    Posts
    939
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: extract data from shapefile

    yes, cogo points are necessary. it's usually not more than 15 or 20 points and the text string is usually only 4 or 5 short words & numbers.
    I've tried that method but can't figure out how to automatically add the data to the cogo point description upon inserting.

  4. #4
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    8,851
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: extract data from shapefile

    If you get the data into an attributed block, you can then run data extraction to create a csv file for re-import as cogo points. That is one workflow for you to think about.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  5. #5
    Active Member dotson's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Posts
    51
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: extract data from shapefile

    Quote Originally Posted by rmk View Post
    Or is there a simply or more effective way of achieving this?
    Since you asked, DotSoft's C3DTools contains a dedicated CogoPoint ShapeFile Import & Export tool. On import. you can easily assign the .DBF fields to primary properties such as description and any remaining fields can be imported as PointUDP so nothing is lost.

    https://www.dotsoft.com/c3dtools.htm

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: Import shapes and attached data (shapefile, object data etc) to Revit
    By cooperch663326 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2014-06-02, 10:53 AM
  2. shapefile edits disappear on Check-In
    By c_rado in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2007-04-03, 07:54 AM
  3. How do you enable automatic shapefile labling in AutoCAD?
    By sbruzda in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2006-03-07, 07:03 PM
  4. Export Flood Trace to shapefile
    By kevin.bell81772 in forum AutoCAD Map 3D - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2005-08-19, 03:13 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •