See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Surface and border failures

  1. #1
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,024
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Surface and border failures

    Can anyone clarify just what the surface is ignoring part of the border, and skipping portions of the feature lines?

    The bulge is easy enough to fix, just by deleting the lines the extend beyond the border - but should not having an outer border prevent the tin lines from crossing?

    The concave dent in the surface on the other hand, makes zero sense. The cyan and reddish feature lines are inside the outer border, and have all been added to the surface (actually the feature lines are continuous and ports of them are included in the surface, but there's a neat arc carved out)
    concave.PNG

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2015-10
    Posts
    10
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    What exactly is being used to build that surface (points, feature lines, breaklines, boundaries, etc.)? Also, look at the history of the surface. . .has anyone somehow accidentally deleted any triangles? I find it odd that the curvature of the surface edge is almost exactly the save radius as the outermost cyan curve you have there.

  3. #3
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,024
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    this surface was built with feature lines, offset from each other at varying distances and slopes/differences.

  4. #4
    I could stop if I wanted to
    Join Date
    2014-08
    Posts
    416
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    Hi
    It appears there needs to be intermediate point defined and the breakline dialog and the middle ordinate needs to be smaller

  5. #5
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,672
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    What happens when you add an outer boundary that is 0.10' outside the outer-most Feature Line, with a mid-ordinate of 0.10?
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  6. #6
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,024
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    that's exactly how the border was set -- lineworkshrinkwrap, offset the pline 0.1, delete original pline, and use the new one as the outer boundary.

  7. #7
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,672
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    That's a tough one; any other Feature Lines (not shown) in the same Site causing this, by chance?
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

  8. #8
    Certified AUGI Addict cadtag's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Cairo - no, not Illinois
    Posts
    5,024
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    no, nothing else there. Equally weird is that I deleted the surface, and recreated it, but started from the outside in -- selecting the MEG feature lines first, adding the boundary, and then adding back in the interior feature lines. Voila!! it showed up properly. I'm not sure what lesson to lean from that, other that C3D is weird.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    2009-09
    Location
    Johannesburg ,South Africa
    Posts
    6
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    Did you tried Audit the drawing?
    I found Civil3D corrupts drawings when I do corridors and sometime gradings, I always Audit the drawing and found errors , and in quite a few instances that fixes the issues .
    Its annoying C3D to do that but we don't have choice.
    Sometimes C3d just bombs out while Auditing so please save always first before Audit the drawing, Just incase..
    Recover instead of Open the drawing also works.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    2003-08
    Posts
    4
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Surface and border failures

    I have this very thing happen to me from time to time randomly. You say they are all feature lines? I know if i have a mixture of 3D polylines, Polylines & Feature lines it can cause issues like this. Never figured out a cause though. Just for an experiment could you add vertices at whatever spacing you want along the curves (of the boundary object) and turn the boundary into a 3D polyline? I have also had luck before doing the same and then turning that 3D polyline into a regular flat polyline (elev. zero). Cheers

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Revit MEP Success or Failures
    By clarkmorgan in forum Revit MEP - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2008-05-07, 06:48 PM
  2. surfing for failures
    By perezdeftone1988 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-09-02, 08:43 PM
  3. fillet failures
    By perezdeftone1988 in forum New Forum Users (Non technical)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2004-09-02, 07:35 PM
  4. Autocad Authorization Code Failures
    By bmkannan in forum Software
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2004-06-30, 03:19 AM
  5. Installation Failures!!!
    By sbrown in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2004-01-14, 01:03 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •