See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    I could stop if I wanted to CEHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    327
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    With 2023 AutoCAD, a needed refresher on CUIX file strategies ensues. Along with my custom-named user profile and workspace (brought forward from 2022 via Autodesk's nice migration tools), the custom setup so easily assigned on "computer 1" was not available on "computer 2".

    My current mastery of CUIX manipulation is lacking and required subject matter study (re)starts.


    1. Pointers to subject materials are appreciated.
    2. Your comments are worth their weight in gold bullion.



    BOTTOM LINE
    To have AutoCAD "Vanilla" 2023 installations on both computers 1 and 2 look and operate identically.

    Thanks,
    Clint

  2. #2
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,379
    Login to Give a bone
    4

    Default Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    One easy way:
    1. On 2022, Start Menu>AutoCAD 2022>Export AutoCAD 2022 Settings. Saves all customizations to a zip file. Note the path you saved it to.
    2. On 2023, Start Menu>AutoCAD 2023>Import AutoCAD 2023 Settings. Browse to the zip file you saved in step 1.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  3. #3
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,651
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    One easy way:
    1. On 2022, Start Menu>AutoCAD 2022>Export AutoCAD 2022 Settings. Saves all customizations to a zip file. Note the path you saved it to.
    2. On 2023, Start Menu>AutoCAD 2023>Import AutoCAD 2023 Settings. Browse to the zip file you saved in step 1.
    Our IT only installed Map 3D, Civil 3D, etc… but not AutoCAD 2023 and none of the options listed at https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...-AutoCAD.html? are on our PC's. I guess AutoCAD must be installed as well to have those options.

  4. #4
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,379
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    Quote Originally Posted by Tom Beauford View Post
    Our IT only installed Map 3D, Civil 3D, etc… but not AutoCAD 2023 and none of the options listed at https://knowledge.autodesk.com/suppo...-AutoCAD.html? are on our PC's. I guess AutoCAD must be installed as well to have those options.
    Maybe it's a Map thing? I have it for acade and amep. I noticed on this page that there is adMigrator.exe.
    Alternative 2: Migration using Windows shell (for advanced users only)
    The migration utility is called AdMigrator.exe and is in the AutoCAD program folder. For example:

    C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 20xx\AdMigrator.exe

    Note:

    For the versions of AutoCAD that do not have "Migrate From a Previous Release," double-click the AdMigrator.exe utility to see if it will allow settings to migrate.
    It is probably necessary to designate a specific target for the utility by creating a shortcut. To do this:

    Right-click-drag AdMigrator.exe to the desktop (or other usable folder) and choose "Create shortcuts here."
    Right-click the shortcut and choose Properties.
    At the end of the contents of the Target field, type in a /product parameter:
    AutoCAD Electrical = /product "ACADE"
    AutoCAD Mechanical = /product "ACADM"
    AutoCAD Plant 3D = /product "PLNT3D"
    AutoCAD Map 3D = /product "MAP"
    AutoCAD Civil 3D = /product "C3D"
    Other parameters:
    "s" = silent mode
    "i" = import
    "e" = export
    "file" = the zipped configuraton file, structure: <path>\<name>.zip
    "language" = for example "de-DE" or "en-ENU"

    The entire Target field should read as follows, including quotes, using AutoCAD Electrical 2020, German version, for example:

    "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\AutoCAD 2020\AdMigrator.exe" /product "ACADE" /e /file "C:\temp\Standard_Profil.zip" /language "de-DE"
    C:> ED WORKING....

  5. #5
    I could stop if I wanted to CEHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    327
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    Hi Ed,

    I will file that important fact!
    For now, 2022 version was uninstalled but not before 2023 "automatically" i.e., without my interaction (exporting/importing) assimilated my 2022 custom workspaces (possibly other components) on my successful 'Computer 1'.

    Now, I must take the rocky path to customize 2023 on "Computer 2".

    Input on customizing by creating a custom CUI may be the best path. What are your thoughts?

    TWO CONCERNS:
    • To maintain consistency between mutliple 2023 installations
    • To futureproof migrations (in case the export/import function fails)
    Yours,

    Clint
    Hill

    ------------------
    CAD Systems Operation and Management
    Chemical Plant Process + Mechanical Design Focus Areas

  6. #6
    Administrator Opie's Avatar
    Join Date
    2002-01
    Location
    jUSt Here (a lot)
    Posts
    9,084
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    Have you analyzed your modified acad.cui? How different is it from the OOTB acad.cui?

    Of course, the CUI is no longer just a CUI. It is a CUIX, which is just fancy for a compressed folder with actual CUI files inside among other files. The CUI is just an XML file with a different extension.

    You could then extract the CUI from the two CUIX folders and run WinDiff on the two CUI files to see the differences. There may be too many differences to make the check useful, though.
    If you have a technical question, please find the appropriate forum and ask it there.
    You will get a quicker response from your fellow AUGI members than if you sent it to me via a PM or email.
    jUSt

  7. #7
    I could stop if I wanted to CEHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    327
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    AH-HA!

    I will try this very thing sooner than later.

    Thanks Opie!


    Quote Originally Posted by Opie View Post
    Have you analyzed your modified acad.cui? How different is it from the OOTB acad.cui?

    Of course, the CUI is no longer just a CUI. It is a CUIX, which is just fancy for a compressed folder with actual CUI files inside among other files. The CUI is just an XML file with a different extension.

    You could then extract the CUI from the two CUIX folders and run WinDiff on the two CUI files to see the differences. There may be too many differences to make the check useful, though.
    Yours,

    Clint
    Hill

    ------------------
    CAD Systems Operation and Management
    Chemical Plant Process + Mechanical Design Focus Areas

  8. #8
    Administrator Ed Jobe's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Turlock, CA
    Posts
    6,379
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    To do what Opie is suggesting, make a copy of acad.cuix, change the extension to zip and then extract.
    C:> ED WORKING....

  9. #9
    I could stop if I wanted to CEHill's Avatar
    Join Date
    2006-05
    Location
    TN
    Posts
    327
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second

    Quote Originally Posted by Ed Jobe View Post
    To do what Opie is suggesting, make a copy of acad.cuix, change the extension to zip and then extract.
    Thanks for that important technique without which accomplishing this task would have been a real head scratcher for me!
    Yours,

    Clint
    Hill

    ------------------
    CAD Systems Operation and Management
    Chemical Plant Process + Mechanical Design Focus Areas

  10. #10
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,651
    Login to Give a bone
    2

    Default Re: Two Installations w/ OOTB ACAD.CUI - Basics on How Duplicate Mods of First to Second


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Basics Help (if someone has a second)
    By wjf02006247426 in forum Revit - API
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-11-20, 09:21 AM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2006-10-25, 12:27 AM
  3. Revit : Installations electrique
    By goutig.112492 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-06-07, 08:16 AM
  4. Globally set-up standard information across AutoCAD installations
    By jgreen.70626 in forum AutoCAD Customization
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2005-04-26, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •