See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Paste Surface is merging data of one surface with the other, not replacing

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Posts
    35
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Paste Surface is merging data of one surface with the other, not replacing

    Not sure what the best way is to approach this work flow. I have a surface from Survey Data. I want to take a portion from the middle of the surface and lower it one foot, take another portion of the surface and raise it by a foot. (Basically moving a foot of dirt from a high area and pushing it to a low area).

    To do this I was thinking I could do the follow:
    1) Create a copy of the surface, call this surface CUT, lower it one foot. Create a boundary around my cut area.
    2) Create another copy of the existing surface, call this surface FILL, raise it one foot. Create a boundary around my cut area.
    3) Paste the Cut surface onto the Existing Surface
    4) Paste the Fill surface onto the Existing Surface

    The problem is the Pasting Surface command does not REPLACE data, it just add supplemental data to the Existing Surface, creating an area that is kind of bouncing up and down by a foot.

    I thought I would have to clip two holes into the Existing Surface, so that the pasted data is the only data in that surface, but I'm not sure of the best way to do that? Or is there another work flow that would be better for this case?

    Thanks


    **UPDATE** I'm an idiot. I was using the PASTE SURFACE command incorrectly. If you want to paste surface B onto surface A, then the Correct method is to select Surface A, hit the PASTE SURFACE command, then select Surface B. I was certain it was the other way around and banging my head on a wall. Will leave this up for prosperity.
    Last edited by Patrick G; 2024-04-05 at 07:38 PM.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-09
    Posts
    35
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Paste Surface is merging data of one surface with the other, not replacing

    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick G View Post
    Not sure what the best way is to approach this work flow. I have a surface from Survey Data. I want to take a portion from the middle of the surface and lower it one foot, take another portion of the surface and raise it by a foot. (Basically moving a foot of dirt from a high area and pushing it to a low area).

    To do this I was thinking I could do the follow:
    1) Create a copy of the surface, call this surface CUT, lower it one foot. Create a boundary around my cut area.
    2) Create another copy of the existing surface, call this surface FILL, raise it one foot. Create a boundary around my cut area.
    3) Paste the Cut surface onto the Existing Surface
    4) Paste the Fill surface onto the Existing Surface

    The problem is the Pasting Surface command does not REPLACE data, it just add supplemental data to the Existing Surface, creating an area that is kind of bouncing up and down by a foot.

    I thought I would have to clip two holes into the Existing Surface, so that the pasted data is the only data in that surface, but I'm not sure of the best way to do that? Or is there another work flow that would be better for this case?

    Thanks
    So this might be stupid, but I think I may have been using the paste surface command.

    I've been selecting the surface I want to paste, then using the paste surface command and chosing the surface I want to paste it onto from the list.

    I'm now thinking the proper order is to select the surface you want to paste onto, then use the paste surface command and chose the surface you want to paste. (if that makes sense, hard to work that)

  3. #3
    Administrator BlackBox's Avatar
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Posts
    5,724
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Paste Surface is merging data of one surface with the other, not replacing

    Try creating a Hide boundary of the cut area in your existing surface, then paste in either your cut/fill surface (not both).

    HTH
    "How we think determines what we do, and what we do determines what we get."

    Sincpac C3D ~ Autodesk Exchange Apps

    Computer Specs:
    Dell Precision 3660, Core i9-12900K 5.2GHz, 64GB DDR5 RAM, PCIe 4.0 M.2 SSD (RAID 0), 16GB NVIDIA RTX A4000

Similar Threads

  1. 2021: Can't Copy & Paste. How to clear data from the last Copy/Paste command
    By tim_newsome in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2022-03-30, 12:08 PM
  2. Merging two LIPS routines in one
    By pablogr_medina711431 in forum AutoLISP
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2015-10-23, 09:01 PM
  3. 2015: Structural Framing (other) - can you change (other) to some other Category?
    By troypiggo in forum Revit Structure - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2014-05-15, 11:11 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2013-11-17, 09:49 PM
  5. 2012: Merging View Title Types into One Family
    By mcole753720 in forum Revit Structure - Families
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2012-12-31, 04:59 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •