See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Keeping outer boundary as the last order of operation

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    951
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Keeping outer boundary as the last order of operation

    Just had a discussion with another well versed Civil 3D user about us having to keep deleting then adding back the outer boundary of the proposed surface so frequently during the course of building out extensive grading.

    Is there any kind of operation type that will keep "Add boundary" at the bottom on the definition tab of Surface Properties?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Posts
    19
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Keeping outer boundary as the last order of operation

    Why are you deleting the and re-adding the boundary? You can change the build order on the definition tab of surface properties with the icons on the left side ("to top", "up", "down", and "to bottom") I don't think there is a way to keep it at the bottom.

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time
    Join Date
    2009-11
    Location
    Raleigh, NC
    Posts
    951
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Keeping outer boundary as the last order of operation

    Quote Originally Posted by mjung View Post
    Why are you deleting the and re-adding the boundary? You can change the build order on the definition tab of surface properties with the icons on the left side ("to top", "up", "down", and "to bottom") I don't think there is a way to keep it at the bottom.
    It would be very cool if there was a Civil 3D revision to make the "Add boundary" stay at the bottom.

  4. #4
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,682
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Keeping outer boundary as the last order of operation

    I use the Toolspace Prospector Tab for editing Surfaces instead and Boundaries is the 1st item in Definitions. After creating the surface I click the Extract from Surface button in the contextual surface ribbon tab then use the "Extract objects" option to extract the "Border" as a 3D Polyline. Then convert it to a 2D Polyline to edit it. With the GRIPS system variable set to 2 right-click one to add a vertex as needed.

Similar Threads

  1. 2022: Outer Boundary
    By tim_newsome in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Surfaces
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2024-02-23, 11:07 PM
  2. 2015: corridor extents as outer boundary - shrinkwrap boundary
    By tott700763 in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Corridors
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-09-15, 02:24 PM
  3. 2011: Keeping xrefs from flying into outer space....How!???!
    By San Antonio Mike in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2012-11-12, 01:44 PM
  4. Undo last LAYISO operation
    By Nick.Nemechek71583 in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2004-10-22, 10:26 PM
  5. Removing outer leaf of brickwork
    By kimheaver in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2004-09-02, 01:55 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •