Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Volume Questions!

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-04
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Question Volume Questions!

    I have two surfaces, I need to do volumes by 5' depth increments!
    Example,,, my highest elevation is 735.00. This is my starting point. I need volume between 735.00 - 730.00, then 730.00 - 725.00 and so on. Is there an easy quick way to do this? Any help would be great!!!

    Gordon

  2. #2
    Civil Engineering Moderator MHultgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,429
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Volume Questions!

    You could build separate surfaces with the limits defined in the Elevation Filters. Do not use elevations less than 729.9 or more than 735. and so on.
    Mark Hultgren
    Just a Lurker
    http://www.MKW-Ind.com
    Blog
    Socializing??

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    2005-04
    Posts
    2
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Volume Questions!

    yea,, i thought of that one,,, but i will end up doing 100 surfaces!

    any idea if this can be done in Civil 3D?

  4. #4
    Civil Engineering Moderator MHultgren's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-12
    Location
    Central Iowa
    Posts
    1,429
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Volume Questions!

    Not sure about 3D, but if you already have your overall surface built, it would just be a matter of copying it, changing limits and rebuilding. Then run the volume calcs. I will check into 3D capabilities later tonite when I get home.
    Mark Hultgren
    Just a Lurker
    http://www.MKW-Ind.com
    Blog
    Socializing??

  5. #5
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2016-01
    Posts
    136
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Volume Questions!

    Could you use the Raise / Lower function from the Edit Surface selection under the Terrain pull down?
    Rick B

  6. #6
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2004-09
    Location
    Moscow, Russia
    Posts
    60
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Volume Questions!

    It seems you are going to calculate volumes of stratificated ditch.
    In this case I do following:
    I built whole ditch (from min to max elevations). Then I make a surface from this grading object. After that I make contours on the surface (in your case with 5 meters interval). And finally I build new grading objects with those contours as base polylines.

Similar Threads

  1. 2015: Répercussion d'un paramètre partagé de matériaux d'un volume vers ses sols de volume
    By eric.lehy-meira695599 in forum Revit Architecture - Général
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2015-04-22, 10:25 AM
  2. Composite volume versus grid surface volume calculations
    By rschaff in forum AutoCAD Civil 3D - Grading
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2011-10-04, 04:20 PM
  3. Basic Questions Volume 1
    By greg002 in forum Revit - Student Support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2010-07-19, 08:47 PM
  4. Basic Questions Volume 1
    By greg002 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-07-16, 10:55 PM
  5. Drafting Questions (was>(Stupid) Newbie Questions)
    By Andrew Dobson in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2005-05-12, 09:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •