Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Site Development - Procedure

  1. #1
    All AUGI, all the time ford347's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Oroville, CA
    Posts
    874
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Site Development - Procedure

    Hello everyone. I have a question I'm hoping someone can give me some insight on.

    I am about to do some site development designs for a client. This particular one of five will be a commercial cluster on 7.5 acres of land. It will have things from restaurants, a bank to a hotel. The site design needs to be a correct representation of what CAN go there, but thats it, pretty much a marketing presentation. My question here is: what is the best way to go about this in Revit. I was thinking of just creating a topography, entering in property lines, table or sketch, and then maybe using sub-regions to separate streets from landscaping, etc. I don't know if I should create building pads, and draw a bunch of building footprints on those pads in the same project, or create separate projects for all of the footprints and link them all to a site project etc. I am hoping someone will provide me with some good info on a good way to get started. Thanks

  2. #2
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site Development - Procedure

    For this type of thing, we always link buildings into a master site plan.

    That way you have lots of flexibility to move, copy, rotate and mirror the buildings at will ( which is what is needed for site planning ) and also to produce plans showing floor level detail and roof detail, ( as well as sections, elevations etc )
    Bruce Gow.

    Karel*CAD. Application Specialist..
    Architect.
    Revitalize. Blog

  3. #3
    All AUGI, all the time ford347's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Oroville, CA
    Posts
    874
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site Development - Procedure

    Thank you for the response.

    So would you create building pads to bring or link those buildings to, or would you just set aside a region or area in which you know you are bringing the building on to.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site Development - Procedure

    Usually building pads in the master site file - but depends to some degree on the topography.
    Bruce Gow.

    Karel*CAD. Application Specialist..
    Architect.
    Revitalize. Blog

  5. #5
    All AUGI, all the time ford347's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Oroville, CA
    Posts
    874
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site Development - Procedure

    ok, that helps. Thankyou

    So as far as representing roads, side-walks, etc. is it a popular method to just do everything as a sub-region and assign it a property so that the color is there, or what. I guess the procedure is confusing me a bit since I have only seen examples of these types of presentations in an ADT environment. They were able to create some shading etc. to make it ''pretty'', but I am going under the assumption that I might take this project past the marketing stage, so I don't want to just ''wing'' the whole thing just for presentation.

    I will post an example here. This was not a finished presentation, but good enough for what I'm asking.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site Development - Procedure

    I'd be looking at using either a shaded plan view with shadows , or else a quick rendered plan view. Impresses the client.

    Everything you have done in Revit will be usable for the final construction documents. You've modelled the building, laid out topo and possible even placed 3D trees ( for the render shadows ).
    Bruce Gow.

    Karel*CAD. Application Specialist..
    Architect.
    Revitalize. Blog

  7. #7
    All AUGI, all the time ford347's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-01
    Location
    Oroville, CA
    Posts
    874
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site Development - Procedure

    How do you render a plan view? When I am on the 'site' view, the render options are not availiable.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator beegee's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    crusing 11 kms above Australia
    Posts
    5,153
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site Development - Procedure

    3D View - Orient Top _ render.
    Bruce Gow.

    Karel*CAD. Application Specialist..
    Architect.
    Revitalize. Blog

Similar Threads

  1. Development Site Schedules? How to attack?
    By Kirk Bricker in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-03-03, 02:04 PM
  2. Development Site
    By Kirk Bricker in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 2009-03-02, 07:57 PM
  3. Recommended procedure for site plan/project setup in Revit
    By jwilhelm in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 2005-06-20, 02:29 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •