See the top rated post in this thread. Click here

Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

  1. #1
    AUGI Addict Glenn Pope's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-05
    Location
    Austin, TX USA
    Posts
    2,201
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    Have you ever needed to know what the viewport boundary is in model space, so you know if you were going outside what the viewport would show?

    Here is a simple trick to use if you have express tools installed on your system.

    In paperspace, draw a rectangle over your viewport.

    In the express pull down menu, go to Layout Tools=>Change Space.
    OR
    Type CHSPACE at the command line.

    Select the rectangle you have drawn.

    Follow the rest of the prompts

    Now you will have a boundary in model space that matches the boundary of your viewport.

  2. #2
    100 Club david-k's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    100
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    Quote Originally Posted by gpope
    Have you ever needed to know what the viewport boundary is in model space, so you know if you were going outside what the viewport would show?

    Here is a simple trick to use if you have express tools installed on your system.

    In paperspace, draw a rectangle over your viewport.

    In the express pull down menu, go to Layout Tools=>Change Space.
    OR
    Type CHSPACE at the command line.

    Select the rectangle you have drawn.

    Follow the rest of the prompts

    Now you will have a boundary in model space that matches the boundary of your viewport.
    This will also work for an irregularly shaped viewport.
    Just trace with a polyline and change space as above.
    Very helpful for keeping text in modelspace viewable.

  3. #3
    AUGI Addict madcadder's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Location
    Too far from the beach
    Posts
    1,034
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    I don't use irregular shaped viewports; only rectangular or round so this works for me.

    Tod
    Attached Files Attached Files

  4. #4
    100 Club david-k's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-12
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    100
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    Quote Originally Posted by todw
    I don't use irregular shaped viewports; only rectangular or round so this works for me.

    Tod
    I use that lisp when I have a rectangular viewport.
    It is a lot quicker.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    2012-10
    Posts
    3
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    Please upgrade to support for polygon (> 4 vertex) viewport.

  6. #6
    Woo! Hoo! my 1st post
    Join Date
    2014-10
    Posts
    1
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    Quote Originally Posted by madcadder View Post
    I don't use irregular shaped viewports; only rectangular or round so this works for me.

    Tod
    Thanks alot! i'm looking for it so far ago!

  7. #7
    Active Member
    Join Date
    2012-02
    Posts
    82
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    I have worked on drawings which have multiple Layouts of the same Model space view. I place a rectangle in the first which is the same size as the Viewport. Then I use the Change space command to push it thru into Model space. Go to each Layout and unlock them (if they are not already). In Paper space, click thru into Model space, use the Zoom Window command and window the rectangle you just pushed into Model space. Each Layout will look exactly the same. This is a personal preference. Some people don't care.

  8. #8
    Certifiable AUGI Addict tedg's Avatar
    Join Date
    2005-06
    Location
    in the upper right corner
    Posts
    3,381
    Login to Give a bone
    1

    Default Re: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    Quote Originally Posted by boyerd492098 View Post
    I have worked on drawings which have multiple Layouts of the same Model space view. I place a rectangle in the first which is the same size as the Viewport. Then I use the Change space command to push it thru into Model space. Go to each Layout and unlock them (if they are not already). In Paper space, click thru into Model space, use the Zoom Window command and window the rectangle you just pushed into Model space. Each Layout will look exactly the same. This is a personal preference. Some people don't care.
    Or... if you want all the layout viewports to be looking at the same thing at the same scale in multiple layouts, all you need to do is copy-clip the viewport and paste it into the other layouts.
    You can use cobybase at 0,0, etc and they will all match.

    And I do care, I usually have my viewports lined up from plan to plan. I don't use a lot of multiple layouts for sheets, but this method works from drawing layout to drawing layout.
    As long as your model space work is in the same place (as it should be for plan views of the same project) it works great.

    Just a thought.

  9. #9
    Certifiable AUGI Addict
    Join Date
    2001-03
    Location
    Tallahassee, FL USA
    Posts
    3,550
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Place a viewport boundary in model space.

    According to http://forums.augi.com/showthread.ph...72-V-P-Outline
    this has been added to AutoCAD though it doesn't say where?

    I've always used: http://jtbworld.com/autocad-vp-outline-lsp

    Creates a polyline in modelspace that has the outline of the selected viewport.
    Supports clipped viewports. polyline is supported, but ellipse, spline, region and circle not supported at this point
    If vp-outline is called when in mspace it detects the active viewport.

    By Jimmy Bergmark
    Copyright (C) 1997-2013 JTB World, All Rights Reserved
    Website: www.jtbworld.com
    E-mail: info@jtbworld.com

    2000-04-10
    2003-11-19 Added support for drawing the outline in other ucs/view than world/current

    2006-04-06 Added support for twisted views Tom Beauford
    2013-06-08 Added support for circular viewports

Similar Threads

  1. 2013: PDF Comes Through Viewport From Model Space Into Paper Space
    By Roderick in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2014-09-25, 09:45 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2010-03-23, 07:22 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2009-10-26, 04:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •