Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: AutoCAD 2006 Text Editor, restore to AutoCAD 2000 behaviour

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    2004-01
    Posts
    21
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default AutoCAD 2006 Text Editor, restore to AutoCAD 2000 behaviour

    we have just upgraded from 2000 to 2006 and the text command ddtext has been changed where it used to bring up a dialog box and now it edits in place but youo must zoom in to see what you are doing is there anyway to make the old way to make the dialog box come up

  2. #2
    Certifiable AUGI Addict robert.1.hall72202's Avatar
    Join Date
    2004-07
    Location
    Detroit Michigan
    Posts
    2,508
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2006 Text Editor, restore to AutoCAD 2000 behaviour

    The variable "dtexted" controls the edit in place function. Change the value
    to 1 in order to get the old editing method. Not sure why they made the box
    so big when using the old method.

  3. #3
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2006 Text Editor, restore to AutoCAD 2000 behaviour

    Hi louis.64641

    Please note I have *moved* this thread from the AutoCAD General Forum to this one as I feel this particular Forum is a more appropriate place for such a topic.

    Thanks, Mike

    Forum Moderator

  4. #4
    The Silent Type Mike.Perry's Avatar
    Join Date
    2000-11
    Posts
    13,654
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: AutoCAD 2006 Text Editor, restore to AutoCAD 2000 behaviour

    Hi

    For different Text Editor options in AutoCAD 2006 take a look at the following threads -

    2006 Dtext and Highlights

    Text sizes

    Have a good one, Mike

  5. #5
    Member esaffle's Avatar
    Join Date
    2007-03
    Location
    Madison, MS
    Posts
    11
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Unhappy Re: AutoCAD 2006 Text Editor, restore to AutoCAD 2000 behaviour

    I am currently running ACAD 2007 having previously operating with ACAD 2000. A couple of months ago I added a tool to a menu that utilized the "ddtxt" lisp routine. Thus enabling me to edit multiple areas of single line text within my drawing from one window. Last Friday I had to reload ACAD 2007 due to some problems we were having with computers. Now I cannot use this command anymore.

    What happens is when you select the button it initiates the routine (ddtxt), then it asks you to select the text you want to edit. After doing so, you are suppose to press enter and a dialog box will appear displaying the different lines of text selected. However, after selecting the text, it goes directly back to a blank command prompt. There are no errors given, just a blank command line.

    I can go into ACAD 2000 and complete the task/routine, but not in 2007. So, I know the routine is alright. I think it has to do with the dialog box. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I seem to have done everything I could find already on this site. Thanks for your help!
    Last edited by esaffle; 2007-05-29 at 04:06 PM.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 2009-06-01, 07:10 AM
  2. eTransmitting from ADT 2006 to autocad 2000
    By al.121707 in forum ACA General
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2006-10-03, 08:40 PM
  3. AutoCAD 2006 Layer States Manager - won't restore properly
    By David Munford in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 2006-05-23, 01:56 PM
  4. Differences between AutoCAD LT 2000 and LT 2006
    By nanoaguilar2000 in forum AutoCAD LT - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-02-02, 11:21 AM
  5. MText editor in AutoCAD 2006 displays text too small
    By eoconnor in forum AutoCAD General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2005-10-04, 02:00 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •