Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Site and Building at True Elevations - What am I doing wrong

  1. #1
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    181
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Site and Building at True Elevations - What am I doing wrong

    I have relocated the project and set First floor as shared as per image 'a'. However, when i model my site it floats above the building as if the building was not relocated, images 'b & c'.
    Last edited by tarch; 2008-01-15 at 01:47 PM.

  2. #2
    Revit Arch. Wishlist Mgr. Wes Macaulay's Avatar
    Join Date
    2003-05
    Location
    Vancouver, BC CANADA
    Posts
    3,348
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site and Building at True Elevations - What am I doing wrong

    The site is moving along with the coordinate system of the project. In section move your topo down by the same distance that you relocated your project (moved it) up.
    Wes Macaulay LEED AP
    Teck Construction LLP
    Revit 2014 x64 | Win7 x64 | nVidia GT 650M
    Tell Adesk what you think!

  3. #3
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,544
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site and Building at True Elevations - What am I doing wrong

    The relocate feature is a "card trick", meaning the bldg doesn't really move. Your site however was created using true elevations. The suggestion Wes made should put you on track.

    Alternatively if you didn't use the Relocate feature already you could put a dimension string across your levels in elevation or section and lock them all. Then change one of the levels to the true elevation. Keep in mind, doing so will mean you must fix all your elevation/section views because you moved your building up out of their current crop region.

  4. #4
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    181
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site and Building at True Elevations - What am I doing wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by Wes Macaulay
    The site is moving along with the coordinate system of the project. In section move your topo down by the same distance that you relocated your project (moved it) up.
    If I move toposurface down contour elevations change to values relative to 0'-0" !?

  5. #5
    AUGI Addict luigi's Avatar
    Join Date
    2015-11
    Location
    Royal oak, Michigan
    Posts
    1,511
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site and Building at True Elevations - What am I doing wrong

    Quote Originally Posted by tarch
    If I move toposurface down contour elevations change to values relative to 0'-0" !?
    Just go to the Settings - Site Settings

    and in the field "Passing through Elevation " put the distance you had to move your toposurface...it will work!

    Maybe Steve understood your problem better!!!
    Last edited by luigi; 2005-06-08 at 03:15 PM.

  6. #6
    Revit Forum Manager Steve_Stafford's Avatar
    Join Date
    2001-12
    Location
    Irvine, CA
    Posts
    7,544
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site and Building at True Elevations - What am I doing wrong

    Take a look at the properties of the site contour labels. The card trick extends to them as well as the levels.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  7. #7
    100 Club
    Join Date
    2003-10
    Location
    Belgrade
    Posts
    181
    Login to Give a bone
    0

    Default Re: Site and Building at True Elevations - What am I doing wrong

    Aaaha, I had to apply Luigi's suggestion along with yours.
    Thanks guys

Similar Threads

  1. True Elevations of Tapered Faces
    By nick.deans766041 in forum Revit - Platform
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 2011-05-17, 08:51 PM
  2. Site/Building linked files - changing building elevation?
    By patricks in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2009-07-10, 06:37 PM
  3. site plan true north
    By chris.80515 in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 2006-03-03, 07:43 PM
  4. Adjusting Building Elevations to Site Elevation
    By Henry D in forum Revit Architecture - General
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2003-05-23, 08:35 PM
  5. Coordinating Project Elevations with Site Elevations
    By Henry D in forum Revit Architecture - Tips & Tricks
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2003-05-22, 09:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •